Redding CA
Pool Size
Surface
Plaster
Chlorine
Salt Water Generator
SWG Type
Pentair Intellichlor IC-20
I’m still new to pool ownership and have a question.

After I purchased my house with it’s 16000 gallon pool, I upgraded to an IntelliFlo VSF pump, IntelliCenter control panel and an IntelliChlor 40 SWG.
It was early winter in Redding CA and the pool was around 60F (and dropping) so the SWG was not plugged in until this past month.
The pool is now around 80F and I added ~400 lbs of salt and we plugged in the IntelliChlor. Been working will the past 2 weeks - my FC is around 2.5-3PPM with the IntelliChlor at 40%.

I use the TF-Pro Salt kit and have been doing readings the past few months. Getting the hang of getting good measurements. After turning on the SWG I have added the salt test to the sequence.
The one thing that I have noticed the past week is the difference between what the TF-Pro kits says my salt level is and what the IntelliChlor app shows me.
When I first added the salt (IntelliChlor not yet plugged in) I hit my target pretty well. TF-Pro showed me around 3400 ppm (maybe 3500 if extrapolate the 200 ppm drops).
We plugged in the SWG, set it to 50% and let it run a few days. FC was good, I was (pre SWG) around 1-2 ppm, after a few days of SWG up to 3 ppm.
The Pentai app showed me IntelliChlor said I was at 3150 ppm salt. TF-Pro said I was still at 3400 ppm.
Today, IntelliChlor says I am at 3000 ppm, TF-Pro says I am closer to 3300 ppm).
Am I not doing the TF-Pro test correctly or is the Pentair IntelliChlor typically off (in this case seems around 250-300 ppm)?

BTW, tfp has been a great resource - especially for a new pool owner! Many thanks!

It is very common for the SWG and actual salt drop testing to not match. Sometimes I have a significant difference of several hundred ppm. So there are a few things to consider:
- Never expect them both to match, it's not realistic.