Partial-drain acid wash?

JulesTX

Apr 2, 2024
Houston, TX
Pool Size
Surface
Plaster
Hi! This is my first time posting, although I’ve come here frequently to search for pool maintenance advice. I haven’t seen any posts on a partial-drain acid wash, and I have some questions. Does anyone have knowledge or experience related to this?

First some background. We had our pool remodeled in November. We went with a colored quartz. Although we do our own pool maintenance, we hired the recommended pool guy to do the startup. When all was said and done we weren’t happy with the finish. It was very blotchy in areas, particularly on the steps and especially around the toe tiles. The plaster company did an acid bath to try to remedy the situation. The spa now looks great, but the rest of the pool does not. The steps and platforms look worse, now with a greenish tint in the blotchy areas.

They are now recommending a partial-drain acid wash, where they will drain enough water to be able to acid wash the steps and platforms. The pool is about 4 ft deep near the steps, and 8ft at the deepest point.

I think my main question is, what about the remaining water? Will they have to neutralize it as they go? And when they’re finished acid washing, won’t there be a lot of plaster dust in the sitting water? And we’re supposed to fill it back up and have the filter filter it all out? Or should I expect them to drain out all of the water once they’re finished and before we re-fill?

Secondly, are there any considerations for the startup after we fill? From other posts on acid washing, I’ve gathered that we won’t have to do a normal new-plaster startup. Is this right? Should I just balance the water like I would normally do? Any particular order concerning CH?

Do we need to bypass the heater for a period of time?

Is daily or 2x daily brushing required, or was that just for the new-plaster startup? Can I / Should I vacuum during the startup?

If you’ve read this far, thank you!