No psi reading on gauge when pump running in "Forward"

Nate_P

Jan 15, 2024
Ocean Shores, AUS
I am a complete amateur when it comes to this, I only learnt last night how to release water from the pool (in "Waste" mode) when we had heavy rainfall, I recent moved into a house with a smallish inground pool.

Here is the issue - When I turn on my pool pump the RetroChlor shows that it is running in "Reverse" for a short time and the ksi reading on the gauge goes to 10 which is normal and I see the jets start to pump water in the pool, it is all quite loud in the pump room. Then about 1 minute later it starts it in "Forward" and the ksi reading goes to zero (pic attached), everything quietens down. I can still see and feel the jets are pumping water, there are small bubbles coming from where the jets are pumping water in the pool, but nothing concerning, and both filter baskets have been cleaned/cleared, and are filled with water (no bubbles in there). I can also see water flow happening between pump filter, chlorinator etc.

I am a little bit perplexed. Both filter baskets are good and clean/cleared, the jets are pumping water so I would have thought it is a gauge issue, but when the pump runs in reverse the gauge is showing a reading, just not in forward.

Any ideas? Happy to post more pics or vids if needed.

Attachments

• IMG_20240116_092208546.jpg
    IMG_20240116_092208546.jpg
    331.8 KB · Views: 7
I'm not following you when you say the system is running in reverse, but I would assume it would be a gauge issue. Those are cheap and easy to replace, so I would start there and see if it clears it up for you.

Reactions: Nate_P
Sorry I should have clarified it was the RetroChlor that seems to show it kicks off in "Reverse" mode at the start after I turn on the pump. The "Reverse" light flashes green then after a minute it goes in "Forward" and stays there.

I will try to unscrew the gauge and see what is going on there.