No drain or drain and acid wash? Commercial pool

Ricewoodscott

Mar 31, 2018
Katy
I work in the industry for commercial pools. Neighborhood pools mostly. Will you pick up a pool that's what's replastered in January, but the company that did it did nothing for the start up. There's tons of scale deposits all over the plaster. It's just white plaster, nothing fancy. It needs to be acid washed, I just don't know whether or not we should drain it and acid wash it or hot start it. Any advice? The pool is 125,000 gallons.

Reactions: 98Poolmaster
I work in the industry for commercial pools. Neighborhood pools mostly. Will you pick up a pool that's what's replastered in January, but the company that did it did nothing for the start up. There's tons of scale deposits all over the plaster. It's just white plaster, nothing fancy. It needs to be acid washed, I just don't know whether or not we should drain it and acid wash it or hot start it. Any advice? The pool is 125,000 gallons.
I would only accept that pool as a client if it was understood that you are not responsible for a bad start up, the damage is done. A "hot start" would have helped, but that pool is way beyond start-up.
You could try this product, it has proven very useful in this type of situation even this long after a fill, but will cost them plenty.
1712264529893.png

I would only accept that pool as a client if it was understood that you are not responsible for a bad start up, the damage is done. A "hot start" would have helped, but that pool is way beyond start-up.
You could try this product, it has proven very useful in this type of situation even this long after a fill, but will cost them plenty.
View attachment 562382
The scale is calcium carbonate from plaster curing it was never removed after initial start up it now will be very difficult to remove.
An acid wash may be the only way to solve the issue although not recommended
The start up process was not done correctly or at all in my opinion