Newbie here questions on valves

Locklyn

Apr 26, 2023
Washington
We bought a house this fall and the pool was closed already. I'm trying to open it myself to save money. My pool has 3 values one for bottom drain, skimmer and a vacuum one. I have never seen one for a vacuum. It came with what I think is a Polaris 280 which I need to figure out as well. Any help would be appreciated.
Thank you

Attachments

• 20230426_104511.jpg
    20230426_104511.jpg
    407.8 KB · Views: 15
  • 20230426_104530.jpg
    20230426_104530.jpg
    480.6 KB · Views: 15
  • 20230426_104807.jpg
    20230426_104807.jpg
    330 KB · Views: 15
Welcome to TFP! :wave: Once you have the water level back up to its proper level in the pool, removed any winterizing plus, and have replaced other plugs where needed, it's time to fire-up the system. At first, I would see if you can leave power to the booster pump OFF. Focus on the pool pump only for now. I would leave the cleaner and drain valves closed for now as it should be easier for your pump to prime from the skimmer first. Once the system is running well from the skimmer, then slowly open the main drain to start pulling water from down there and watch to see how it goes. Pump pot should stay full of water.

Once those two are pulling water properly and the pump pot remains full, then you can consider dropping the Polaris in the pool, opening the vacuum valve, and turning on power to the booster pump.

Hope that makes sense. Let us know how it goes.

Here's a handy link in case you need it.