Shepherdsville, KY
Pool Size
Surface
Vinyl
Chlorine
Salt Water Generator
SWG Type
CircuPool RJ-45 Plus
Hello, I am new to the TFP site. I have had a 17000 gallon AGP for 21 years. I used Baquacil ever since it was new until this year. I had very few problems with Baquacil for the first 16 years or so, (although it was expensive), then I started having issues with pink slime (water mold??). Each time I would pull the steps and clean/brush down everything, change sand in filter, etc and it would be back in a month or so. This has been a recurring problem ever since. I stuck it out as long as I could because my wife never wanted to use chlorine. ( Because of it's reputation for bleached swimsuits/hair, red eyes, etc.) This year I decided to switch to a SWG (Circupool RJ-45) and bought a new Variable speed pump and just got everything up and running a few days ago. I have been doing a lot of research online before and after purchasing the SWG and stumbled upon this site. Since then I have learned a lot about the pool chemistry involved with chlorine pools and decided to stick with this site as my go-to information resource in the future. I also purchased a Taylor K-2006C test kit and have become familiar with it. Right now my readings are: TA-90, PH-7.4, CH-150, CYA 70. I started up the RJ-45 2 days ago on 70% power, (pump running 24 hours at 2400 rpm) with a FC reading of zero at the time. Today my FC is 9ppm with no Combined Chlorine. I have seen the recommendations for FC/CYA here and will use that as a guide, but would like to stay as low on the FC as possible and still do the job. I live in KY (it has been sunny and in the 90s for 3 days now) and would welcome any and all feedback/advice moving forward. FYI: I completely drained and refilled the pool last week and started from scratch. I added 12 40lb bags of salt. (480lbs). Water temp right now is 82 F. I like to keep the pump running 24 hours at about 2400 just to keep the top skimmed off. Thank you