Hello, I recently joined TFP thanks to a recomendation from Woody99. I recently purchased a home with an in ground pool in Covington, Louisiana. This is my first pool and I have no experience maintaining a pool. We currently have someone doing this for us, but I would like to learn how to care for the pool myself. I would appreciate any information you are willing to share.

Thank you,
Aaron

HI! You are going to LOVE how your water looks after we get through with it! Your wallet will love how fat it is once you are able to fire the pool service LOL

Your first step is to get your own test kit. Look in my siggy below for the one I think is the best bang for the buck as it has more of the regents for the tests we do most often.

Here is the corner stone page for TFP. It is the hows and whys of what we do around here. Everything we share here is science based and tested in thousands of pools each day! Pool School - ABCs of Pool Water Chemistry

Make sure to ask any and all questions you WILL come up with! We love to help!

Kim:kim:

I have a lot of questions, but I won't hit y'all with them at once. I literally have nothing other than a nice extendable pole and a skimmer. Other than the test kit what should I buy to get started? Should I go to a home improvement store or a pool store to get the essentials?

Thanks,
Aaron

If we successfully keep you out of all pool $tores, we will have done our job :) They might have some nice pool toys and spare parts that can be helpful, but their testing and recommendations are taught to them by the pool chemical companies, so your interests are not likely to be well-served. I know that sounds a bit odd, but we see problems arising from pool $tore advice time after time after time.