New construction, Ozone/UV vs. Salt

CEBOB

Dec 25, 2023
Dallas, TX
Hi all, I am brand new to TFP. We are getting ready to start our new pool construction and I'm trying to decide on a sanitation system. I have the general understanding behind both the Ozone/UV and Salt systems but would like some real life opinions of each. My main goals are ease of maintaining the chemistry and minimizing the cost to maintain the pool. We live in the Dallas, TX area and are building a fairly large pool between 35K and 40K gallons, 12 foot deep. We will also have an attached spa. Any opinions and/or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Welcome to TFP! :wave: One word - salt. Go with a robust sized SWG rated for at least 2X the size of your pool and you'll never look back. We get plenty of sun in TX so ozone isn't necessary, and neither is UV. Do a quick search for UV and ozone and you'll see hundreds of such discussions here.

In the meantime, I'll put a few links below to help you along while others will reply soon as well. Good luck on the build and enjoy the forum.

Be sure to bookmark ----> Pool Care Basics

Reactions: CEBOB
Hi all, I am brand new to TFP. We are getting ready to start our new pool construction and I'm trying to decide on a sanitation system. I have the general understanding behind both the Ozone/UV and Salt systems but would like some real life opinions of each. My main goals are ease of maintaining the chemistry and minimizing the cost to maintain the pool. We live in the Dallas, TX area and are building a fairly large pool between 35K and 40K gallons, 12 foot deep. We will also have an attached spa. Any opinions and/or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
There’s a giant ball in the sky which produces more UV than any consumer grade bulb will produce. Even an ozone/UV system needs a residual sanitizer so you’ll still need chlorine either way. That’s why a salt water chlorinator is a way better option. It makes chlorine for you.