Need help with pool vacuum

SELUMI

Jul 27, 2023
Orlando, FL
Hi, I am new to pool cleaning. I bought this new hose vacuum set from Leslie Pools except I don’t know how to set up my valves to siphon out dead algae. Please see pictures. Does anyone know how to set up a basic vacuum and backwash to remove dead algae from the bottom of a pool? Any help would be greatly appreciated :) IMG_1970.jpegIMG_1973.jpegIMG_1974.jpegIMG_1972.jpegIMG_1977.jpeg

You need a plate that fits your skimmer. Look under the skimmer cover for a brand and skimmer number and get a matching plate.
1690511651267.png

Leave the gray valve in the position it is in. You either have a skimmer and main drain or two skimmers. When you turn the black valve (pump OFF!) so the handle points to the right, you are closing off the left feed. Figure out which is which and close off either the main drain or one of the skimmers. Push the flex tube into the pool until it is filled with water, put the plate over the skimmer under water, then connect the hose to the plate.

No - that's what "powers" the vacuum!
Rather than pull water from the pool surface, which a skimmer normally does, your new plate and hose will allow you to pull water from wherever the other end of the hose is. The plate pictured above may or may not work due to the right angle fitting on it. For some pools, it works great to use it and feed the hose out of the skimmer opening into the pool. Mine requires a plate with a fitting that points straight up, so the hose comes up out of the skimmer, and loops back down into the pool.

Not mentioned - but you do have a "head" for the other end of the hose, and a long pole to attach to the head, right?

Here's a random video about some of the different kinds of heads you can get: