Gold Supporter
Jul 22, 2021
Arkansas
Pool Size
Surface
Vinyl
Chlorine
Liquid Chlorine
First of all, I haven't added chlorine since May 12, 4:45pm. The pool is pretty and clear and I've just been waiting for the SLAM levels to drop. However, I need help with my inconsistent FC readings.

I bought my 2024 TF-Pro refill kit at the end of March and have been using it since opening on April 30th. I also bought another bottle of R-0871 FAS/DPD reagent on 5/10/2024. I keep all my reagents indoors in my TF-Pro case and use one of the old plastic containers they come with to pull my water sample from an arm-length down in the water. I've been doing the same routine since 2021, but this week I noticed very inconsistent FC readings. I've listed my details below. In summary, yesterday I got a FC that was 13.0 (a drop from 13.5 the previous day), then a retest of 16.5, and another retest of 14.5. Today I got a result of 13.5 and then did an "insanity" pool store check that said 10.32.

Is there any chance my TF-Pro refill R-0870 DPD Powder is causing a problem with my tests? I did note it was not as "powdery" this year and had some bigger chunks than I remember last year. Any other ideas? I use the Smart Stir every time and give it plenty of time to dissolve. I guess it is possible during the SLAM I would pour my R-0871 drops too quickly. But during today's test I was very careful and deliberate to ensure I did everything accurately.

Today's Numbers
FC = ???
CC = 0.0
CYA = 30
pH = 7.7
TA = 60
CH = 25
BOR = 40

Timeline of Inconsistent Readings:

Monday May 13, 5:23pm: FC = 13.5

24 hours later

Tuesday May 14, 4:53pm: FC = 13.0

It was a cloudy overcast day, but I was still surprised by only a .5 drop in FC. So I tested again using the same process.

Tuesday May 14, 4:56pm: FC = 16.5