Sep 23, 2019
Harford, MD
Pool Size
Surface
Plaster
Chlorine
Liquid Chlorine
Hello Everyone,

I opened my pool a little over two weeks ago. I usually have a bit of chemical balancing to do, but the water is clear. This year, the water became cloudy once the pump started running and has remained cloudy since.

The FC levels have never been below 15 with the CYA of 25 (I'm currently adding more to get thisa bit higher) since opening, so I don't believe a SLAM is the solution. I have a DE filter that I've backwashed and replaced the DE in 3 times since opening (I actually added too much DE at one point and the excess added to the cloudiness x_x).

I went and bought a flocculent to try, but I'm hesitant to use it. In part because I've never used one before, and also because I would only be able to remove the solid material via my pool robot's basket, which would very time consuming.

I'm happy to answer any questions anyone has, and I'm open to suggestions. Thank you.

DE would fall out of the water fairly quickly - unless you have a bad filter and were constantly blowing a portion back into the pool. Could consider shutting pump down for an hour and see if the debris falls to floor.

Can you add a picture of current status? Photos are worth a thousand words.

DE would fall out of the water fairly quickly - unless you have a bad filter and were constantly blowing a portion back into the pool. Could consider shutting pump down for an hour and see if the debris falls to floor.

Can you add a picture of current status? Photos are worth a thousand words.
Yes, the excess DE does settle, but the overall cloudiness does not.

I attached some photos of both the shallow and deep ends. It's a white cloudiness.

Attachments

• PXL_20230526_192515124.jpg
    PXL_20230526_192515124.jpg
    504.3 KB · Views: 7
  • PXL_20230526_192517743.jpg
    PXL_20230526_192517743.jpg
    428.4 KB · Views: 7
  • PXL_20230526_192528929.jpg
    PXL_20230526_192528929.jpg
    197.2 KB · Views: 7