Mysterious reduction in water flow (not caused by filter)

senex

Gold Supporter
Mar 20, 2018
Austin, TX
Hi all, I've been using the TFP methods for several years with good results.

This fall my waterflow reduced dramatically, which I assumed would be solved by cleaning the cartridges, but that didn't work, and even installing brand new Pleatco cartridges yielded no improvement.

When my filter was new a few years ago, I got 50gpm at 2200rpm. Now I get 25gpm, even with the brand new cartridges (installed today). I am perplexed about what could cause such a huge reduction. My plumbing hasn't changed and there are no visible/obvious problems. When I adjust the valves to pull or return water only from/to the pool or hot tub, there is no significant change, which I think rules out a blocked pipe.

The only thing I can't bypass is the pump, the filter, the heater, and some check valves on the return lines. I don't know how to diagnose whether the pump is misreporting gpm, or whether the heater or check valves are severely restricting flow.

I got lazy with calcium & pH control this summer, and my saturation index was probably 0.7 - 1.0 for most of the summer. Could that cause tremendous scale buildup somewhere (in the heater?) that is restricting flow? Is there any way to confirm or fix that issue? I am stuck.

FC 1.0
CC 0.0
pH 8.0
TA 110
CH 575
CYA 35

Oh, also, the heater hasn't run in several years, and is actually unable to run due to a gas line problem I never fixed.

There are two things I would inspect first - the heater element and the pump impeller. Sometimes debris can get wrapped-up around or in the grooves of the impeller which might effect water pull. Based on your potential for calcium scale, the heather core is a real possibility. Too bad you don't have a bypass for that one. :( You'll either have to get in there to inspect or just cut it out now since it doesn't work anyways and make a bypass now.

Senex.