Mustard Algae keeps coming back - then Bromide mistake

Jul 10, 2019
Nashville, TN
First off, I want to say this site has been a godsend. I've been using what I've learned here for the last 5 years, and my pool has been perfect with minimal effort and expenses. (I've only had to step foot in a pool store once to buy a fitting for my pump.)

Last summer, I developed a mustard algae problem. I followed the procedure listed on TFP. I completed the SLAM process, then raised FC to Mustard shock level for 24 hours. In my case, FC was raised to 35 ppm (CYA=60), and I scrubbed everything very thoroughly again (including behind the light niche). It took almost 2 weeks for the FC levels to drop back down to normal. During that time, I still brushed the pool 3 times a week and kept my pump & sand filter running non-stop.

I thought the mustard algae problem was behind me, but about 3 days later, it came back. So, I SLAM'd again and raised FC to Mustard levels again (35 ppm), but this time, I kept them there for 48 hours. Again, it took 2 weeks for FC to drop down to normal levels. The algae appeared to be gone by the time I winterized the pool last fall.

The big downside to the extra high FC levels is that my pool liner color has been bleached to a much lighter color below the waterline from the high FC levels.

In March, I opened my pool and the mustard algae has returned. I once again SLAM'd and raised FC to Mustard shock level (with lots of scrubbing), and again after a few weeks, the issue returned.

I had a pool guy come to replace my pump, and he mentioned a product that he said works great on killing mustard algae. I made the mistake of trusting him and using it. I knew better and should have looked at the ingredients and not trusted him. It was "ProTeam Mustard & Black Magic," and of course, it has Sodium Bromide as the main ingredient. I added 2 lbs to my 30,000-gallon pool.

The mustard algae appeared to be resolved for 48 hours, but now it's back again.