mastertemp 300 not heating water

ttkt

Jun 12, 2023
Buffalo
Hi all,
have already read lots of great information on this forum. i have a 15 year old pentair mastertemp 300 that was cycling on and off every minute or so but the water was hot when running. Up until this year it has run just fine. i replaced the thermal regulator and now the heater fires and stays on, but the water is not hot enough. I looked inside the thermal regulator port and it seems the bypass valve is missing. see pic. I think when I removed the old one that had been in there for 15 years I must have broken off the valve. It was completely shot and not that easy to get out. With the new thermal regulator in-place, i checked the output temp by holding in "pool" button and it only gets to around 210 when pool temp is set to 84.

If i understand correctly, I can see how a missing bypass valve would deliver unheated water since the input and output are mixing ahead of the heat exchanger, but i don't understand why the output temp would only be 210 and not higher with lower flow through the heat exchanger from the missing bypass valve. i have not looked under the panel yet to see if any lights are on, but there are no error codes from the front display.

should a new bypass valve fix my issue ? i wonder if it's worth the trouble on a 15 year old heater. thanks for any advice

IMG_2223.jpg
s

I guess I'll try to replace the bypass valve. not sure how to measure the flow but it seems fine. pump running full speed, no external bypass. filter is clean. three-way valves fully open to pool-side.

thanks for your input !