Leak - is it this return line in the spa? (Dye test video)

TexasDogs

May 11, 2021
San Antonio, TX
Pool Size
Surface
Plaster
Chlorine
Salt Water Generator
SWG Type
Pentair Intellichlor IC-40
Been in the house 3 years and this is my first pool, plus I'm new to the Texas climate, so over the years I've been pretty stunned by evaporation and wondering if it truly was (yes, I know I should've done a bucket test). However within the past few months, it got WAY worse and I did confirm with bucket test. I've had a few tiles pop off and noticed grout is in poor shape in a few areas so I'm slowly working on that and I sort of chalked the leak up to that. However, after letting water level drop below tile line, bucket test has confirmed there's still a leak. Also all the way below skimmer, so it's not that. So today I finally did a dye test for spots I can get to from above (not willing to brave 50° water to check drains). First time doing dye test but I think I have a (rather unfortunate) smoking gun. One return in the spa appears to be sucking the dye into it. Here's a video:

I was a bit surprised it was being sucked INTO the return, not around it. I'm assuming this means the leak is somewhere in the plumbing? That's of course under the concrete decking, about as far from the pump pad as possible...

So am I crazy? Does this look like a leak in the plumbing? Incidentally, this is the one return in the spa that is tied into the pool returns (the other 4 are on the spa only branch). So I can't even think of a way to isolate it to verify. Any thoughts?

For comparison, video of dye test on one of the other spa returns:

Attachments

• PXL_20231229_191828434.TS_exported_13104_1703907204660.jpg
    PXL_20231229_191828434.TS_exported_13104_1703907204660.jpg
    249.6 KB · Views: 7
You will get more views of your video if you load it to YouTube, Mark it PUBLIC, and post links here. Many folks will not click on unknown links.