Perth, Western Australia
Pool Size
Surface
Fiberglass
Chlorine
Salt Water Generator
SWG Type
Astral Viron V25
Hi all. New member signing in and doing the routine "introduce yourself" thing.

I'm Dave, and we've recently bought a house that contains a swimming pool. Hence my interest in your place here. I live in Western Australia (near the capital Perth) - but I'm sure pool water, algae, salt and chlorine work here pretty much the same as they do elsewhere in the world :)

Somewhere over 40 years ago, in my teens (yeah - I'm old), I looked after my parents pool, but things then were not as well understood as they are now. Since then I've had no other experience with pools until about 12 months ago when we shifted here - and my ... education commenced!

I inherited a older pool here. Our best guess is maybe 15 to 20 years old and it's had several owners each putting their touches on things (for the pool, it's equipment as well as elsewhere around the house). We've put in a salt water chlorine generator, replaced the aging single speed pump with a variable speed unit and I am coming to terms with the basics of keeping the water looking decent ( ~ish *grin*). Mostly, I've managed to keep the pool swim able thro last summer - perhaps with the aid of some luck - but there is clearly still much to learn.

A bit of a look around this site was certainly educational. I downloaded the Pool Math app, only to find it was suggesting I need a login to this place ... so I thought I'd complete that deal and say hello. So - hello all ! :)

Hi Dave,

welcome to the forum, always good to see another Aussie here.

Have good look around, browse through Pool School and the forums. You'll notice that the TFP method is different in a few aspects to what pool stores tell you. The main difference is, that the TFP method will keep algae permanently out of your pool, and it will be a lot cheaper.