Julie's Pool

As suggested hold onto that last payment until it's the way you want it. It's going to be tough to take time out to drain and refill the pool so that work can be done. I've noticed the aggregate in our pebble job is exposed a bit less in some spots of our pool. I'm guessing it's a bit tricker to get the exposure uniform with the smaller pebble. But for the most part, unless you have goggles on and looking closely under water you can't really tell. I've noticed quite a few imperfections in the pebble job, but it's all under water and as long as it's doing its job, I'm ok with it.

I did take a close look at our pool after reading your post earlier and in no way did the guys cover any part of the tiles with the pebble.

duraleigh said:
F_AZ,

I seldom comment on pool builds because I am not in the business and am reluctant to second-guess the work of someone who is.

That said, I have some knowledge of masonry and that tile and finish work on the stool is absolutely marginal, at best. They need some type of finished edge (I assume that's where the beadcrete was supposed to go) where the vertical surface meets the horizontal and it appears they have made no allowance for that.

Additionally, I'm not crazy about the technique they used of putting the cut tiles on the outside. While I have not installed irregular rounds like that, it would seem fairly simple to me to place complete tiles around the perimeter and then fill towards the middle. With some care and thought about placement, I think that work could've been done with no cut tiles. However, I've not done it before so there may be issues I'm not aware of.

If it were my pool, I think I would document my dissatisfaction at least with that feature.

Dave - thank you for commenting, I do appreciate it. I have not see pool stools finished close up to know what I should expect. What type of finished edge have you seen used? I am quite curious since it doesn ot look clean at this time.