Jandy JXi heater toast, need help

Titan7

LifeTime Supporter
May 9, 2015
Peoria, AZ
So I rarely use the heater, last time was a year ago, turned on pool heat yesterday, I heard the pump speed up but the heater did not fire up. When to look at the heater control panel, it’s dead, no display. No breakers tripped, any first suggestion? Oh, it’s only 5 years old.

0D920A6C-7151-4988-9D39-EB48B7E7B421.jpeg8884F60A-9E91-42EA-99A4-4E733045A26B.jpeg11872585-784B-46D0-AAA6-87EF24D7B6FD.jpeg
Clearly we have a problem here, looks like something shorted out and created a small fire? How this occurred I have no idea? I never use the Dang heater, I hope this can be fixed by just replacement of the small board but not sure what board it is and will this fix the issue? Thoughts?

Lucky strike, it's toasted!

I'm no heater expert, never owned or worked on one, just a handy googler.

That looks like the part I linked but you'll have to find a manufacturer parts diagram for your exact model to confirm. And as for whether it will fix it... probably, I think.

The wiring's a little fried so you'll have to decide if you just see if it'll make it, or if the state of it is unacceptable in which case further wiring work would be required. Try pulling those two bottom connectors and see if they come off intact.

So I just realized I posted in the wrong sub forum. Fast forward, I have not used the heater in about 9-12 months, it’s been in service since 8/2016. Tried to heat the pool the other day but the heater did not come on, no power at the control panel on the heater. Check breakers not issue, from panel and it appears there was a pretty bad short on the small transformer board, see photos, looks like a bad short, not sure how this happened? So thoughts on repairing? I‘m very handy, but I also know that’s 240v stuff. I saw some others had this issue. Can I just purchase a new board and transformer and replace? Or should I call in a Pro?

38AF358E-46A1-479A-A0CB-3334F4947B5F.jpeg