Issue Vacuuming Pool - Filter Hose Collapsing In On Itself

Aug 8, 2011
Curious if anyone has had this issue and how they resolved it.

We have a 27' above ground pool that is in need of it's weekly vacuum. I get everything set to go, switch the pump to Waste and off I go... or so I thought.

The hose that leads FROM the pool TO the pump is collapsing in on itself keeping water from reaching the pump and therefor, zero suction.

Why is the hose doing this? This seems to be the only function of the hose, to transport the water from the pool to the pump, but it can't do it's job because its collapsing in, blocking the water from reaching the pump. It's very frustrating.

Will a new hose do the trick? Do I need a super-duper heavy duty pump hose? Will this happen again with the new hose?

Thanks for any advice!
-C

I’m still an amateur myself, but I assume that you have a sand filter since you say you are pumping to waste (you need to include a signature so we can better assist you without having to ask about your equipment).

If so, when you are vacuuming, I don’t think you should be pumping to waste, I believe it should be in normal filter mode. The use for pump to waste as I understand it is for after you backwash, then you should rinse/pump to waste before you go back to normal filter mode to seat the sand back down in the filter.

Maybe I am wrong though - many others I am sure will reply and let you know if there is something else. I think your hose is collapsing because when you pump to waste, you avoid the sand filter, so there is no loss of pressure and it’s too much for the hose.

Have a great weekend!

I found some old pictures of my equipment! Woohoo!

Hayward SWIMPRO LX Pump 1.5HP SPL (70GPM)
SWIMPro High-Rate Sand Filter 200lbs of Sand, 25GPM FIltration Rate

I does quite clearly indicate that the pump should be set to filter for regular vacuuming. I'm certain I was told otherwise years ago when we inherited the pool!!!