Intex swg boost mode added too much chlorine

Stang Guy

Jun 20, 2016
Long Island, NY
So I just set my 15000 gal max intex swg up. I put it on boost mode overnight. It added too much chlorine. Should I just leave it off until the levels come down to normal? It’s currently @ 12ppm and my cya is about 70ppm.

I bought the over sized swg that’s good up to 15000gal, my pool is only 4400 gal intex 15x48.

Once the levels drop to normal my plans is to keep it on 2-3hrs a day and see how it goes. This is my first time using a swg, I’ve always just used the bleach and 40-50ppm cya method.

Meh. That's not even half SLAM.

Trust me. When you goof with FC, goof on the high side, never the low side. There's leeway above tagert level up to SLAM FC (40% of your CYA, 28 FC for 70) and very little leeway below target level.

There's always some trial and (mostly) error when dialing a new system in. And then trying to repeat it every year thereafter.

As @Newdude said, no worries. You're just 2ppm over the target. That's nothing.

We can do some numbers to get you started on a regular schedule. A 15 foot pool with 4 feet of water is ~5,300 gallons. Your swg makes 12 grams / hour. That's 0.53 pounds per day. Your water weighs 44,200 pounds. So the SWG is making 0.53 / 44,200 * 1,000,000 = 12 ppm per day when set at 100%.

This seems to match what you saw when you let it run for most of a day.

June in New York, you'll probably be losing 2-4 ppm per day. That varies wildly with shade, swimmers and other factors. Since you're a little high now, let's call it 2. So I'd start with a setting that's at 2/12 or about one sixth of the cell's capacity. You can get that by running it at 100% for 4 hours a day or at 17% for 24 hours a day or some combination.

At least some TFPers prefer to keep the cell running through most of the daylight hours because that's when the losses are actually happening. One mix that does this is 13 hours at 30%.