Missouri
Pool Size
Surface
Vinyl
Chlorine
Salt Water Generator
SWG Type
Pentair Intellichlor IC-60
Didn't want to start another thread, but didn't want to hijack someone else's. I'm still learning and have received so much fantastic help around here. This might be the best place on the internets.

I have been running my pump at 1200 rpm for most of the day. Now that I have enough salt, my SWG is up and running, to get enough flow I have to increase the pump speed to 1800 rpm to get the green flow light.

What I'd like to do is have my schedule as follows running the SWG at the percentage it needs to produce enough chlorine:
12:00 AM - 12:15 AM - POOL LOW
12:15 AM - 1AM - POOL (SWG ON)
1AM - 6:15AM - POOL LOW
6:15 AM - 7AM - POOL (SWG ON)
7AM - 12:15PM - POOL LOW
12:15 PM - 1PM - POOL (SWG ON)
1PM - 6:15 PM - POOL LOW
6:15 PM - 7PM - POOL (SWG ON)
7PM - 12:00 AM - POOL LOW

Obviously, this won't work because the pool circuit needs to be the lower speed. And, the SWG won't function on another circuit because the filter pump relay powered off when the pool circuit isn't running.

Would my schedule work if I instead changed "Pool Low" to an Aux circuit and wired the SWG to its relay? Essentially, I'm trying to run my pump at the lowest possible speed for most of the day, while still allowing the pump to run long enough at the higher speed for the SWG to do its job.

Rob,

If you are trying to make something that is very easy, very very hard, you have succeeded :mrgreen: :poke:

With a heater, 1800 RPM is a little high but not much.

What is your goal? What is the point of turning the cell on and off so often?

I am confused?

Thanks,

Jim R.

Reactions: nrobfd_pl
Rob,

Most pools use 2 to 4 ppm of FC per day. So let's use 3 ppm as our target..