Jerm

Jun 11, 2023
Washington
Pool Size
Surface
Vinyl
Chlorine
Liquid Chlorine
Hello. I am a new member and just received my TF Pro test kit. I’m also new to pool maintenance.

My question is about the acceptable level of alkalinity in the pool water. I just downloaded the Pool Math app to my phone and it is telling me that the acceptable alkalinity rate in the pool is between 50 and 90 ppm. My pool tested at 100 ppm today. When I look at the other information out there, it seems that it’s more common to have an acceptable range of 80 to 120 ppm for alkalinity and when I plug 100 to my target range in the app it keeps telling me that it is too high, so I am wondering which information is correct. Or is it somewhat of a moving target depending on what you’d like to see in your pool?
I would love to have some advice from you, experts…… because I am far from an expert.
Thank you in advance!
Jeremy

Welcome to the forum.
TA is the least important parameter in pool water chemistry. It is essentially a buffer for pH. When too high, the pH will rise quickly, and if you have other conditions conducive to it, scaling can occur.
The range in Poolmath is to create a condition that if you keep all the parameters with range, you will not likely be in a scaling tendency area nor, if you have a plaster pool, in an aggressive range that can hurt your plaster.

In your case, just relax. Manage the pH. Test the TA every week. All is good.

Reactions: Newdude
You'll find we have several resources to that clarify what TFP is all about and how we manage things the way we do. By testing your own water, you're on the way to great pool management. Be sure update your signature with all of your pool and equipment details. See our sigs as examples. Please add your test kit to the sig as well. Lastly, be sure to save our Pool Care Basics page to your favorites. It's a great resource.

Welcome to TFP and enjoy the forum! :wave:

Welcome to the forum.