Jan 11, 2022
Central NJ
Pool Size
Surface
Vinyl
Chlorine
Liquid Chlorine
Hey folks,
So this winter my 2 season old liner decided to leak and I’m going to replace it.

What was installed was a swimline 21x 48/52 20 mil overlap liner. I’ve been told to go at least 25 mil but I’m seeing a 30 mil for sale too.

Another question is should I stick with overlap or if they have unibead should I get that?

Here are the ones I was looking at that were in stock at Walmart:

Or

If anyone has a better suggestion that’s helpful too!

Thanks!
-John

i like beaded liners, but you will need to buy bead receiver track if you don’t already have.

Reactions: Decoy205
Yeah I think the overlap just has the coping strip. I’m new to all this but I know it’s an overlap liner now so yeah I’d have to buy the bead track.

2 seasons is a really really short life for a liner so suggests bad water chemistry or poor quality liner. Beaded is definitely easier to replace if DIY (hopefully 5-7 years from now) but there are less design choices- weigh those factors, but you are pulling your top rail either way this round. All of your links seem to go to Boulder swirl which I love!

Thanks! Do you think 25 mil is enough? Or should I got the 30? If I get the unibead I’ll have to find the track too.

Any suggestion on where to buy or is Walmart fine?

I'd get 30 if you can find it in a design you like and cost isn't too much higher, but 25 is fine otherwise. Looks like that liner is sold by inyo pool just through Wal-Mart so I'd say it's fine. They are a pretty reputable company that has been around.

Thanks Paul! Im getting help this time from a service company but will post pics. I’m trying to think ahead for any issues that might arise. I ordered coping strips.

I’m thinking I should get gaskets as well for
The skimmer and supply lines?

Enjoying this content?

Support TFP with a donation.

Give Support