mbnoelle

May 31, 2023
Ontario Canada
Pool Size
Surface
Vinyl
Chlorine
Liquid Chlorine
Hi there! Please go easy on me. Consider me like a child, I will very unlikely know what the abbreviations you usually use mean. For example, I read the SLAM instructions and I’m still lost.

We opened our above ground pool recently. All the info I have or know about it is in my signature. Anything else I have no idea. It was obviously green, and as such we are working on opening it. Last time (our first time opening it) we closed it way too late and didn’t maintain it before closing it, and as a result had to drain and start over, so I’m basically new at opening a pool properly.

We’ve put 3 giant yellow jugs of liquid chlorine in, backwashed, and filled the water. It is now much lighter but still cloudy and green.

Took a water sample to the pool store and these are the results of the test (in brackets is what they recommend we be at):

FC - 0 (2-4)
TC - 0 (2-4)
CC - 0 (0-0.2)
PH - 7.6 (7.2-7.8)
Alk - 55 (100-150)
CYA - 30 (30-150)

They recommended the following:
- add 2.5kg of TROL, circulate for 6-8 hours and test again
- add 1.8L of liquid chlorine or the condensed powdered shock they recommended to me

She said this is all I need to do and it’ll be clear again.

I can’t see the bottom of it to vacuum it properly. I have no idea if the vacuum is even touching the ground. Can’t see a thing. Hard to tell with such a long pole as well.

Our basket went missing (possibly on the bottom of the pool which we can’t see).

So far I’ve just added the recommended amount of Trol. When should I add the shock chlorine? Tonight?

Does circulate mean put my pool filter on the circulate setting? Or is it just always circulating when the filter is on?

Our pool is in the shade for a good chunk of the day.