Green water despite FC

btz30

Jul 31, 2021
Pennsylvania
Hi all. I've been using the TFP method for 2 years now and never had any trouble. This year, I'm struggling and could use some help. My pool water is persistently green despite adequate FC levels (typically 1-3 ppm). It started off the season clear, but this week went green and won't go away. Last night, I added 10 gallons of 10% liquid chlorine to try and SLAM the pool. FC only got to about 6 after that (I ran out of chlorine and the store was closed, so I couldn't go any higher). In the morning, here are my levels:
  • Location - central PA
  • Pool type - Fiberglass
  • Sanitizer - SWG
  • FC - 3.0
  • pH - 6.8 (I know this is low - I dropped it to lower my TA and will be aerating to increase)
  • TA - 100
  • CH - 300
  • CYA - 40
  • Salt - 3300
I started the season with new filters, and washed them out last night before trying to SLAM. They looked fine. I brushed and swept the pool, and there really wasn't any growth or debris on the floor or walls. They seemed very clean.

PoolMath says only 3 gallon should take me from FC 3 to FC 16 for SLAM, but after 10 gallons I only got to 6 so something must be eating it, right? Should I just keep adding more and more liquid chlorine? It is starting to get pricey, and I'm worried I'm wasting my time.

Any guidance is much appreciated! Thank you!

Attachments

• IMG_1153.jpeg
    IMG_1153.jpeg
    318.1 KB · Views: 8
  • IMG_1154.jpeg
    IMG_1154.jpeg
    335.8 KB · Views: 7
  • IMG_1157.jpeg
    IMG_1157.jpeg
    151.6 KB · Views: 7
Should I just keep adding more and more liquid chlorine?