First time pool owner, should I drain due to high CYA?

new2pool45

Jun 4, 2021
Tucson, Arizona
I bought this house with a pool a year ago (Tucson, AZ) and I'm completely over my head in maintaining it. I bought a Taylor Test Kit (had seen it recommended on here) and noticed my CYA is way high. Last time I checked, it was over 100. Should I do a partial drain to get it back to where it needs to be? Weather should be cooler next week (72 degrees for a couple days) and I bought a sump pump so I thought it would be a good time to drain if that's what's required. Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Again, I am new to ALL of this and would appreciate gentle guidance on what to do. Thank you!

Welcome to TFP! :wave:

What is your CH?
Chances are it would be best to drain the entire pool and start fresh if the CH is 500+ and the CYAis high.

Please fill out your signature with your pool, pool equipment (manufacturers and model numbers) and test kit. This will help us to better help you and not need to ask for this info repeatedly.

If you haven't already, have a look at:
ABCs of Pool Water Chemistry
PoolMath
FC/CYA Levels
Recommended Levels

Welcome to TFP! :wave:

What is your CH?
Chances are it would be best to drain the entire pool and start fresh if the CH is 500+ and the CYAis high.

Please fill out your signature with your pool, pool equipment (manufacturers and model numbers) and test kit. This will help us to better help you and not need to ask for this info repeatedly.

If you haven't already, have a look at:
ABCs of Pool Water Chemistry
PoolMath
FC/CYA Levels
Recommended Levels
I will do a complete water test today and get back with the results. :)

Check your fill water CH also. It's probably between 200 and 250 in Tucson.
Do you have a water softener you can plumb to your autofill?

Don't forget to fill out your signature.

Enjoying this content?

Support TFP with a donation.

Give Support
Is it safe to completely drain a plaster pool