Experiences with inexpensive XtremePower / Vivohome pool pumps from Amazon/eBay?

gkw4815

Aug 31, 2021
Memorial Villages, TX
Pool Size
Surface
Plaster
Chlorine
Salt Water Generator
SWG Type
Pureline Crystal Pure 60,000
Currently all of our pool equipment is working nicely except that the 2 hp PacFab Challenger pump that operates our waterfalls is noisy and has been ever since we purchased our house ~a year ago. The pool was built in 1996 and I assume that this pump is original. Thankfully our equipment is on the far side of our garage and not too audible from the pool area, but out of respect for our neighbors we'd love to quiet the pump down.

The pool company that installed our new heater and filter last year looked at the pump and said that the bearings are likely going out. For what it's worth - the sound is more of a gnashing sound vs the shrill whining sound I'd associate with bad bearings, but I'm no expert on the subject. Other than the noise the pump works fine and doesn't leak. On average we might run the waterfalls for ~1 hour per week.

This company gave us a quote to replace our 1.5 hp Sta-Rite circulation pump with a 2.7 hp Jandy VS pump and move the Sta-Rite (which is still whisper-quiet) over to the waterfalls. Interestingly, the tech who looked at the equipment thought that the 1.5 hp wouldn't adequately replace the existing 2 hp waterfall pump, but his boss insisted that the 1.5 hp would work just fine.

We're considering this option (and definitely wouldn't mind saving some $ on electricity with the VS pump), but given that we spent a fortune last year on the heater and filter, we are also looking at cheaper alternatives. I'm comfortable with electrical and PVC work and am thinking of replacing the waterfall pump myself and just holding off on a VS main pump install for the time being.

Which brings me to my questions: