Deepend swimout bench

Jul 21, 2017
Cookeville, Tn
Hello,

current construction of a 14 x 28 slope pool 3.5 to 6', vinyl liner, 3 steps formed in pool and an 18" full length bench at the deepend. Worried now about safety of small children trying to do cannonballs off back of the pool. Anyone have issues with benches at the deepend and kids. Never thought about this during the planning process but now friends and family are asking questions.

It's my first time having an inground pool, and concrete is already formed for this bench.

Thank you for any feedback.

You might check the code in your local area. Where I live, in Southern Indiana, there are restrictions on ledges/benches in the deep end for exactly the reason that you mention. I can grab a screen shot of the code if that'd help as guidance on what they have deemed as safe.

Dan

You may consider placing the bench along the side of the pool instead of at the end. The idea being that people won't have to jump over it into the water. This may not always be a good idea as it really depends on where people will likely be jumping.

I have a bench along one whole side of the pool. Diving isn't allowed since it's a play pool, but just for an extra bit of safety, I set an 8 inch tile every two feet along the top of the bench. I set them on a diagonal, and chose a tile that would contrast the pool surface. I carried the same pattern into my sunshelf. It works to help visualize the water depth, or I should say lack of depth.