Krulligo

May 18, 2022
Toronto
Pool Size
Surface
Vinyl
Chlorine
Liquid Chlorine
This is my first time dealing with algae since I switched to TFP method back in the spring of last year.

Short story of what happened is that I didn't add enough chlorine before a really big storm at night, with lots of wind and water accumulation. Unfortunately the morning after the storm, with dealing with a toddle and a baby, I didn't have time before going to work to deal with the pool and it passed my mind to up the chlorine level. After coming home I checked the pool and it went slightly cloudy with a slight hint of murky green. Some green-brown dust at the bottom in certain areas that can be brushed off. However can easily see the bottom (4f deep round pool). I measured the chlorine level and it was at the lower end of the range for my CYA. I quickly added enough chlorine to up to SLAM level (30 CYA - added up to 12ppm chlorine). A few hours later I remeasured and added a small amount to get it back to 12ppm.

Before going to sleep at around 11pm, I measured chlorine to do an OCLT and it measured 12ppm. This morning I got up before the sun to measure again and chorine was at 11.5ppm with no CC detected. So I think I have killed off the living algae already (since I probably caught the bloom very early).

Just wondering what my next steps should be since the pool is still cloudy. It has been filtering through a sand filter for about 15hours and the pressure in the filter is very slowly rising. Will the sand filter be able to capture what I suspect is dead algae dust with running it 24/7? How long could it typically take to clear? Is there anything else I should do?

All other tests were not out of the norm - TA=80ppm, pH=7.8 (this measurement was done at SLAM level so probably inaccurate, a few days ago I measured it at 7.3-7.4 but might have gone up due to the rain).