Cya and CH keep increasing

OWSwimmer

Mar 8, 2022
TX
I’ve been doing my own testing/treating for a few months now and feel pretty comfortable and competent doing so. I’ve mostly been adding Muratic acid to keep the ph down but recently my cya and CH have been steadily creeping up. I have a SWG so I don’t use tablets.
What would be causing my cya and TA to keep increasing?

Attachments

• IMG_8236.png
    IMG_8236.png
    45.1 KB · Views: 21
CYA can only increase if you add stabilizer. That is found in tablets but you state you do not use them. The other is to directly add stabilizer, either liquid or granular. Now CYA does take some time to register on your test, so if you added stabilizer recently, it may take 48 or more hours to fully disperse and register on your test.

TA increases if you add water. What is the TA of your tap water. Are you adding water because you of evaporation in this TX heat? Then expect your TA to rise.
Please read

Thanks Herman,
Im not concerned about my TA increasing. Unfortunately I typed TA instead of CH at the bottom of my post. I’ve edited the original post. So sorry for the confusion.
I have added dry stabilizer several times but it’s been a while. I’ll include my treatment and test results. And yes,
I’ve been adding water daily to keep up with the evaporation here in TX.
Ph tap water here is 7.9.
So I’m trying to figure out why my CYA and CH has increased so much. Looks like the only way to fix this is to drain some water but I’ve no idea how much. Help from anyone would be greatly appreciated.
thanks.

CYA/CH TF Pro Test Kit
6/1 60/400
6/8 Added 1# Dry stabilizer
6/8 (Leslie’s 88/315)
6/17 65/350
6/17 Added 1# dry stabilizer
6/20 70/
7/1 55/425
7/3 65/
7/3 Added 1# dry stabilizer
7/7 90/
7/12 85/
7/17 70/425
7/17 (Leslie’s 102/358)
7/30 95/500

7/3 65/
7/3 Added 1# dry stabilizer
7/7 90/
7/12 85/
7/17 70/425
7/17 (Leslie’s 102/358)
7/30 95/500
I am only looking at what has occurred in July.