Costs of operating a pool in terms of electricity

tsar

Jul 14, 2022
Westchester County, New York
Hi Folks,

I am a newbie and I wanted to understand the operating cost of running my pool in terms of $$$ for electricity. I have a separate heater as well, but just in general -

Here are the specifics of the pool
- 16k gallons pool, 15x33feet gunite pool, 3M dark finish
- salt water pool
- hayward + pentair fns plus fiberglass DE filter
- hayward super II NSE-50 pump
- Intellichlor SWCG
- pb4-60 booster pump
- heater (let's ignore the gas based heating cost - still need to figure out how that runs)

Now I assume the main power usage comes from two things

Electricity cost - 15c/kwh
Season - 6/7 months - 200 days

- Hayward Super II NSE-50 Pump - HP 3/4, 0.55 KW, 115/230V, AMPS - 11.0/5.5 - this is 1.26KWH * 8 hr/day (80F temprature) * 200* 0.15 = 302$ (approx)
- Pb4-60 booster pump - HP 3/4 so assuming its also 1.26Kwh * 3hr/day * 200 * 0.15 = 113$

Does this sound correct?

- Hayward Super II NSE-50 Pump - HP 3/4, 0.55 KW, 115/230V, AMPS - 11.0/5.5 - this is 1.26KWH * 8 hr/day (80F temprature) * 200* 0.15 = 302$ (approx)
- Pb4-60 booster pump - HP 3/4 so assuming its also 1.26Kwh * 3hr/day * 200 * 0.15 = 113$

Does this sound correct?

Yup, about $1.50/day to run your filter pump.

Last edited:
What does this mean?

hayward + pentair fns plus fiberglass DE filter

Do you have a Hayward filter or a Pentair filter?

In general, having a saltwater chlorine generator on a pool with a single speed pump is a bad idea. You are running a water pump at its full energy usage even though the SWG doesn’t need that high of a flow rate to activate it and turnovers in a pool are unimportant. Most pools only need around 2 hours of skimming to keep the water clean and circulated. Your pressure cleaner is also using a ton of energy.