Concrete slab erosion and repair

as1430txstate

May 17, 2021
Willis Texas
I’m fixing to acquire this mess of a pool equipment slab. What kind of repair does this need? Looks like a good amount of erosion taking place with yard. Perhaps patch work on bottom of slab and then compacted soil brought in and secured with posts driven into ground (small retaining wall)? Total pool newbie here. Appreciate all the advice!
5F6D017C-4B9C-45B3-88CC-1C9BFE25118A.jpegDB63924D-ABDE-4DD5-9D2E-38B7C85B401E.jpeg

looks like all the water runoff on the pool deck, your house and above your house all go down this hill that the equipment pad is on.. all that runoff is taking away the soil little by little... You need to do build up that whole area with rocks like they do when they have runoff on roads or bridges or anything like that..

See how they have done this for runoff, you will need big and small rocks to fill in the area so it no longer takes dirt out and the rocks slow the runoff down.. you will also need gravel to fill in the area behind your pump pad and in front of it to stop the dirt from eroding then install the bigger rocks on top of that...

1622119193370.png

I agree you should line the hill in rock to limit the errosion being caused by runoff.

You should try and backfill that erroded corner with some clean fill if you can. After you do that put a layer of geotextile fabric down to hold the soil in place then a layer of rock to hold the fabric down.

Or figure out how to divert the run off up hill of the pad to prevent it from going around the pad.

Reactions: cowboycasey
By fill I just mean clean dirt with out big rocks.

You dont want top soil with lots of organic material.

Use the fill to replace the solid that was lost. Try to get some back up under the pad. But that's not too critical just for appearance really. Use fabric and rocks to hold the fill in place.

It would be very beneficial to the repair to deal with the water run off up hill of the slab.