fanis.merk

Aug 3, 2023
Turkey
Pool Size
Surface
Plaster
Chlorine
Salt Water Generator
Ok. Although I have learned about pool chemistry and maintaining my pool thanks to this site, I am totally new to closing a pool. The problem I am having is the articles on this site are tailored towards pools in US. Around here most of us have concrete overflow pools with separate overflow tanks (the water first overflows into a smaller basin and then sucked to filter), fully tiled, no skimmers, and return jets are at the bottom (hence lowering the water level below the return jets have no meaning for us). Winters are quite mild and no freezing occurs. In order to translate the given advice I would like to understand the objectives behind closing a pool.

Before the winter many people here drain the pool to half and let the algae grow and the frogs sing. Beginning of summer pool is fully drained and cleaned with acid and then refilled with clean water. Why is the practice like this? Pool is drained to half to protect a concrete pool from seismic shocks and avoid overflow from rain. Then it is fully drained and cleaned with acid. Tiles are very resistant to acid. At most you get grout damage which you can fix every 5 years or so. Many people prefer to swim in a freshly filled water rather than water from the previous season. Some people remove the pumps some don’t. I know it is probably not eco friendly but it is how things are done.

If I would like to do a better job than this, and I assume that’s how TFP guys would do, what are my objectives if I don’t expect winter freeze?