Chlorinating pool while on VA

run53

LifeTime Supporter
May 4, 2010
So my salt cell died and I ordered a new one that was defective. I’m waiting for the warranty replacement but I’ll be going g on Vacation soon and I’ll be gone for a week. Since I’ve always had the SWG to keep up the FC, I don’t know the best way to keep it chlorinated while I’m gone. I’m thinking about using the 3” tabs as the risk of raising the CYA is probably minimal if I only use them for a week. Right now my CYA is 70ppm and I have to add about a half gallon of liquid chlorine every day to keep FC between 4.5 and 8.

I’ve never used tabs before. Do they go in the skimmer or in a floater? How many would I use to last the week? I will probably also bring my pool up to slam level before I leave just for insurance. Anything else I need to think of?

Tabs shouldn't go in the skimmer as the high dose of chlorine through your pump will degrade its lifespan. A floater would probably be fine. I'm not sure about how many tabs you'd want to use.

I would put 4 tablets in a floater.
That will add 9 ppm FC and 6 ppm CYA over the week.

Then deal with what you have when you get home. Unless you can get someone to visit the home a couple times while gone. How do you plan to keep the skimmer basket cleaned out?

I would put 4 tablets in a floater.
That will add 9 ppm FC and 6 ppm CYA over the week.

Then deal with what you have when you get home. Unless you can get someone to visit the home a couple times while gone. How do you plan to keep the skimmer basket cleaned out?
Thanks.....I may be able to get a neighbor to add some liquid chlorine a couple times.

So if I do the math,

Slam level for 70CYA = 28 FC
plus
4 tabs = 9ppm FC

total FC = 37ppm

If I assume 4 ppm FC loss per day, I should have about 9ppm FC when I return in one week.

Does this sound correct?

I doubt the tablets will fully dissolve.

If you can get someone to add chlorine, I would not use any tablets, or at most one or two.