Chandler, AZ
Pool Size
Surface
Plaster
Chlorine
Salt Water Generator
SWG Type
CircuPool RJ-45 Plus
After my robot bit the dust, I'm considering going back to a suction side cleaner.
I'm aware of most of the pros and cons between a robot and a suction side cleaner, but if you have any input in this area I would appreciate it.
What I am mainly looking for are your thoughts on a suction side cleaner that you like, or ones to avoid.

Thanks.

Sorry should have mentioned that I have a suction port. Suction is powered by a 2-speed motor (1725/3450), which hopefully I'll be able to run at low speed to "power" the cleaner.

Reactions: JoyfulNoise
Pentair Kreepy Krawly Sandshark is what I have. @Dirk has the Pentair Rebel.

On the Hayward side the Navigator is the go to suction model there but I have no experience with that.

Polaris has some very fancy wheeled suction cleaners. Not heard much about them.

Zodiac does their Barracuda line. Again, no experience with that.

One thing I will absolutely recommend - use an in-line leaf canister to catch debris. I had a suction line clog once and it was no fun at all to fix. I like the small Hayward canister (W560 I think?) as it has a hard plastic strainer in it that you can line with a hairnet which then captures a lot of fine debris. Catching all the junk in a leaf canister helps keep the pump strainer basket and filter clean.

I have no complaints about my Rebel. I would buy it again. I've never had a robot and have no interest in one. I like that I can leave my vac in all year long, if I want to, with no cord running across the deck. I do pull the Rebel out when guests use the pool, but It is easy to do because it is so light. I imagine a robot is quite a bit heavier.