Baquacil to Chlorine Conversion - need reassurance!

Thanks for the info, duraleigh. I've added TSP to my next pool shopping trip list so I can chemically clean the filter. I don't know where I can get it, but I'm going to check at the pool store first.

I've added CYA now. Thanks for the tip to get it at Meijers, mitzelfamily. I wouldn't have even thought to check there. That's very handy.

It sure is nice to not have to add bleach non stop. I haven't added ANY since last night at 9 p.m. The FC has only dropped from 19 FC to 16 FC in almost 24 hours. CC is still at 1, so I'm getting close to being done with the conversion!

I'm getting excited to get the SWG hooked up, but my husband is out of town this week and he's the one who's going to hook it up, so I have to be patient (I'm not good at that!!). I've calculated we're going to need 17 of the 40 lb. bags of salt, so I need his muscle and his pick-up truck to go get the salt.

I just put enough CYA to get to 40 ppm, but it looks like it should be between 60 - 80 ppm for my SWG. Should I raise it to that level now, or should I wait a week until we're about to hook up the SWG?

Also, I'm planning on adding borates. Should I do that now or wait until after the SWG is hooked up and running?

Add CYA a step at a time. It is easier to put in than take out. That is a good first step.

Wait until you have the SWG hooked up AND your levels balanced for a little while before you add borates.

You have come so far and done a great job! It is nice to see someone learning and doing what needs to be done!

Kim