Automatic ORP using Liquid Chlorine and CO2

Aug 8, 2015
Jeffeson, MA
I recently purchased a Hayward CAT-4000 ORP/PH controller for my commercial, 24,000 gallon indoor pool. I will be installing in the next few weeks once the electrician wires a GFCI outlet and I am going to be using a 15 gallon stenner pump for the chlorine and I have secured a local gas company that is going to lease my out a CO2 bottle to control the pH. Since I am new to this arrangement as I have been using an off-line brominator for years (and have had to deal with all of the issues associated with it) I have been researching whether we are allowed to use CYA in the water or not and I have found nothing (other than all of the information that I have seen in some of the threads over the years) and so I am planning on using 20-30 ppm of CYA in the pool as that is what seems to be recommended on this site.

The water has been changed and I have just been using liquid chlorine for the past 3 weeks so there is no longer any bromine in the water.

My next question is that I will need to calibrate the unit (I believe the default setting is either 650 or 750mv) and the pH needs to be calibrated once I match it against the testing reagents. Once I get the ph setting for 7.4-7.6 I am really not familiar with the ORP levels and I have to maintain our FC at 1-3ppm (state regs) and I think I read (either here or in the manual) that the ORP setting may/can be adjusted depending on whether you want to maintain the FC at a particular level vs the ORP at a particular level?

Is that level is affected by the addition of CYA? Since we have a decent bather load and it the pool is heated to 92 degrees I would like to maintain the FC as high as would be recommended? Is 3ppm high enough if the CYA is at 20-30ppm? Again, I am limited by state regs. What is the relationship between ORP and FC levels?

Thanks,