Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: Zero CYA reading using same TFTestkit on two different pools, accurate?

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Manteca, CA
    Posts
    18

    Zero CYA reading using same TFTestkit on two different pools, accurate?

    My TF-100 kit was bought 1.5 years ago. Never tested CYA in my pool. Was confused by the directions and for some reason never attempted it again till today. Kit has been kept mostly indoors until I loaned it to my bro, who has left it outside in the shade for about 2 months. This week, it reached the 90's.

    Decided to test my bro's CYA and it was zero. My CYA is also at zero. What are the chances the reagent is still good and the reading is correct? My bro's pool was green for almost a year. I read another post that bacteria can eat CYA and turn it to ammonia. That may explain my bro's reading. My pool however has been mostly blue since I bought my kit and found this site. And I know when I bought my house, the pool was green and I hired pool boys who slammed it with powdered shock. CYA's must have entered the pool chemistry then. I can go to Leslie down the street and have them test my pool free. I can maybe ask my neighbour for a sample of his pool water to test my kit to see if I get a reading.

    Question is, given the conditions my bro kept my kit in in the last two months and the age, should I just get refills anyway?
    In-Ground Gnite Pool (unknown build date)
    Sta-Rite 3 - OEM Filtration Cartridge
    Pentair VS + SVRS Pump
    Poolvergnuegen 2X Suction PoolCleaner (1st Gen)
    Solar Heater on 2-Story House (unused/no solar controller)

  2. Back To Top    #2
    Texas Splash's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    South-Central Texas, Marion/San Antonio
    Posts
    12,928

    Re: Zero CYA reading using same TFTestkit on two different pools, accurate?

    Below are some previous discussions about that same issue:
    Can CYA testing agent R0013 go bad?
    Extended Test Kit Directions
    Test Kit Life span...

    Water Testing Instructions on One Page

    Try to post some overall results (FC, CC, PH, TA, CYA, CH) and we'll try to help some more.
    Pat (a.k.a. Texas Splash) ~ My Pool: Viking Fiberglass; 17,888 Gal; Waterway Supreme 2-sp/2-hp pump; Hayward Ctg filter; TF-100 w/ Speed Stir
    Vital Links: POOL SCHOOL, RECOMMENDED LEVELS, RECOMMENDED CHEMICALS, Poolmath Calculator, SLAM, Chlorine/CYA CHART.
    If you enjoyed your TFP experience, please consider donating to Support TFP!

  3. Back To Top    #3
    Divin Dave's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Longview, Texas
    Posts
    4,926

    Re: Zero CYA reading using same TFTestkit on two different pools, accurate?

    Its most likely that both of the pools dont have any CYA.

    Teh R0013 should be good for several years.
    Divin Dave,
    IG Vinyl, 15' x 30', 3 1/2' - 6' deep, Oval, ~15K gal, Intelliclor IC40, Intelliflo VS pump, Clean and Clear 420 Filter, auto-fill-disabled, Retrofit LED Color Light, Dolphin Nautilus Robot, TF100 Test Kit, Taylor K1766 Salt Test Kit, Tftestkit Pressure Gauge.
    www.tftestkits.net Experience- it's what's learned just after you needed it most !!

  4. Back To Top    #4

    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Manteca, CA
    Posts
    18

    Re: Zero CYA reading using same TFTestkit on two different pools, accurate?

    Quote Originally Posted by Texas Splash View Post
    Below are some previous discussions about that same issue:
    Can CYA testing agent R0013 go bad?
    Extended Test Kit Directions
    Test Kit Life span...

    Water Testing Instructions on One Page

    Try to post some overall results (FC, CC, PH, TA, CYA, CH) and we'll try to help some more.
    Just took readings from my pool:

    FC: 10
    CC: 1
    pH: 8.2
    TA: 180
    CH: 320
    CYA: 0

    My normal (lazy/time saving) process is just to add 2 gallons of Walmart GV 8.25% bleach once per week during the warm months and skip the testing. It's the only thing I ever do besides cleaning debris and the requisite cartridge cleaning 2x/year. Looks like my slacking has left some things to be desired (water is hard here). And yes, I did do just that hence the high FC reading. My pool fringes on an algae bloom at the top of the pool all the time. Looks like I have to go back to school.

    But, it also does appear my kit is in order; thoughts on this?

  5. Back To Top    #5

    In the Industry

    duraleigh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Sebring, Florida
    Posts
    30,077

    Re: Zero CYA reading using same TFTestkit on two different pools, accurate?

    YOur kit was purchased two years ago to the day.

    The chemistry may or may not be good after being outside (the CYA probably is....the others????) and I would simply place an order for a complete refill set and start over.

    Pool Store testing stinks......no way around it. I hope you decide to manage your own pool and get the benefits out of your kit.
    Dave S.
    42k vinyl and concrete pool, 1.5hp pump, 140gpm filter
    TFTestkits , PoolMath , Pool School

  6. Back To Top    #6

    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Manteca, CA
    Posts
    18

    Re: Zero CYA reading using same TFTestkit on two different pools, accurate?

    Quote Originally Posted by duraleigh View Post
    YOur kit was purchased two years ago to the day.

    The chemistry may or may not be good after being outside (the CYA probably is....the others????) and I would simply place an order for a complete refill set and start over.

    Pool Store testing stinks......no way around it. I hope you decide to manage your own pool and get the benefits out of your kit.
    Care to PM me a coupon code duraleigh since my spam filter pulled your discount notification out of my inbox?

  7. Back To Top    #7

    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Manteca, CA
    Posts
    18

    Re: Zero CYA reading using same TFTestkit on two different pools, accurate?

    Quote Originally Posted by Divin Dave View Post
    Its most likely that both of the pools dont have any CYA.

    Teh R0013 should be good for several years.
    My next question was going to ask: is it better to bring CYA up instantly with a solid/liquid solution, or slowly with tablets and monitor it as it goes to 30. But I think the drawback is loss of FC until CYA gets there is beyond the break even point of a more instant solution. Off to search the board for a good brand to buy, preferably off Amazon, from Walmart, or from the dreaded Leslie.

  8. Back To Top    #8
    Patrick_B's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Midland TX
    Posts
    15,001

    Re: Zero CYA reading using same TFTestkit on two different pools, accurate?

    To go from Zero, its best to add straight Cya.
    TFP Moderator
    Essential Links:
    ABC's Of Pool Chemistry, Test Kits, SLAM Your Pool
    28K Gal IG FreeForm, CLI Quartz, Pentair 36"SF & VS Pump, Dolphin M5, Rheem

  9. Back To Top    #9
    Scuba_Steve's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Pooler, GA
    Posts
    311

    Re: Zero CYA reading using same TFTestkit on two different pools, accurate?

    Quote Originally Posted by jimcraig152 View Post
    Care to PM me a coupon code duraleigh since my spam filter pulled your discount notification out of my inbox?
    You could always just go into your spam folder... If the spam folder messed with the email, mark it as not spam and it will go into your inbox.
    6425g Intex Ultraframe 18'x48" AG
    Stock 1500gph cartridge filter / Intex SWG CG-28669 with E.C.O.
    Install date: 5/26/2015
    TF-100
    Helpful Links

  10. Back To Top    #10

    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Manteca, CA
    Posts
    18

    Re: Zero CYA reading using same TFTestkit on two different pools, accurate?

    Quote Originally Posted by Scuba_Steve View Post
    You could always just go into your spam folder... If the spam folder messed with the email, mark it as not spam and it will go into your inbox.
    It wasn't a coupon. It was a 20% off promo for the refill kit that ended on 4/20/15 (interesting choice with this date, btw). But it does appear like my kit is giving accurate readings. With zero CYA, I would expect my pH and TA to be high, which they are. Considering I just dumped 2 gallons of 8.25% bleach in it, I'd expect the FC to be high, which it was. My pool has very little traffic however. I do have a couple of pool noodles and a inflatable tanning bed in it. Still a CC reading of 1 seems high given the traffic.

    Thoughts?

  11. Back To Top    #11

    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Manteca, CA
    Posts
    18

    Re: Zero CYA reading using same TFTestkit on two different pools, accurate?

    Perhaps I don't understand what a heaping scoop is when doing the FC/CC test. From high school chemistry and cooking classes, we were taught to level off the dry ingredient from the rim of the spoon to have an accurate amount to be used. And that is what I did. Is this correct?

  12. Back To Top    #12
    Scuba_Steve's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Pooler, GA
    Posts
    311

    Re: Zero CYA reading using same TFTestkit on two different pools, accurate?

    No a heaping spoon is done without leveling off the spoon. It is basically as much as the spoon can hold without actually spilling over.

    Alternatively you could use 2 level spoons.

    Accuracy obviously is not important for this measurement. You can not have too much, but you can have not enough.
    6425g Intex Ultraframe 18'x48" AG
    Stock 1500gph cartridge filter / Intex SWG CG-28669 with E.C.O.
    Install date: 5/26/2015
    TF-100
    Helpful Links

  13. Back To Top    #13

    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Manteca, CA
    Posts
    18

    Re: Zero CYA reading using same TFTestkit on two different pools, accurate?

    Thanks Scuba_Steve. Took your pointer and headed over to my bro's house and tested his water. He is in a different neighboring county and perhaps it is municipally treated differently. Here are his readings. Keep in mind I am in the middle of SLAM'ing it (or at the tail end of the process). I inadvertently added the 2 bottles of the scented bleach from Walmart yesterday. His pool was cloudy yesterday as it had been for about a week. I couldn't see the bottom. I can only work on it during the weekend since I work in the Bay Area. Today, it is hazy and I can easily make out the two drain caps in the deep end. It's still not crystal clear but I am close.

    FC: 2
    CC: 1
    pH: 7.2
    TA: 170
    CH: 200
    CYA: 0

    Yesterday, his pH was reading 7.8 before I put in muriatic acid. I suppose I shouldn't have done that now that I am adding in the CYA with a sock. Keep and eye out for where this ends up.

    Still undecided if I should buy chem refills though. Because of laziness, I have hardly used it in the time I owned it. Seems to be wasteful. And because it does seem my chems still are good.
    In-Ground Gnite Pool (unknown build date)
    Sta-Rite 3 - OEM Filtration Cartridge
    Pentair VS + SVRS Pump
    Poolvergnuegen 2X Suction PoolCleaner (1st Gen)
    Solar Heater on 2-Story House (unused/no solar controller)

  14. Back To Top    #14

    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Manteca, CA
    Posts
    18

    Re: Zero CYA reading using same TFTestkit on two different pools, accurate?

    Sucked it up and bought a refill set. Will take new readings with the old and new chems to compare once it gets here. Or I might just toss out the old chems.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •