Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Question about AL-0, AL-1, AL-3 etc Aqua Rite

  1. Back To Top    #1
    ned8377's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    Wake Forest, NC
    Posts
    239

    Question about AL-0, AL-1, AL-3 etc Aqua Rite

    Does anyone know what the numbers AL-0, AL-1, AL-2, AL-3, AL-4 and AL-5 mean on the Haywood Aqua Rite. These numbers can be changed when at that point by moving from Auto to Superchlorinate. I know that they are for different models and or remote controls but does anyone know exactly what each setting means or is used for?

    They are supposed to be for changing the product name. I know that AL-0 means Aqua Rite, AL-1 means Nature Soft and AL-2 means Mineral Springs. What do the rest mean?

    Thanks!
    True L 45,000 gal Hayward IG vinyl pool. Hayward Tristar 2.40 THP; 1.5 FRHP/1.60 SF. Hayward Model # S310T2 Sand Filter. Aqua Rite T-15. Aqua Comfort 154,000 BTU Heat Pump. TF-100

  2. Back To Top    #2
    Patrick_B's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Midland TX
    Posts
    15,001

    Re: Question about AL-0, AL-1, AL-3 etc Aqua Rite

    Sorry, I have no idea. Giving your thread a bump so you might get an answer.
    TFP Moderator
    Essential Links:
    ABC's Of Pool Chemistry, Test Kits, SLAM Your Pool
    28K Gal IG FreeForm, CLI Quartz, Pentair 36"SF & VS Pump, Dolphin M5, Rheem

  3. Back To Top    #3
    Mod Squad jblizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    37,389

    Re: Question about AL-0, AL-1, AL-3 etc Aqua Rite

    I searched. Came up empty. Not sure it matters for anything.
    Saw some statement about changing it to communicate with different manufacturers controllers ... no idea how or why you would do that though.
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

  4. Back To Top    #4

    Re: Question about AL-0, AL-1, AL-3 etc Aqua Rite

    It is the name sent to an automation system.

    AL-0 is AquaRite
    AL-1 NatureSoft
    AL-2 MineralSprings
    AL-3 SmartPure
    AL-4 This changes the default display from average salt to percent output.
    AL-5 This is used with Jandy automation.

    Aquarite, naturesoft, mineralsprings and smartpure are essentially the same unit with different branding. Hayward does private labels for certain companies. al-0 to al-3 are basically equivalent other than a superficial name change. AL-4 is not about the name, it just changes the default display. AL-5 needs to be selected for the Jandy automation to control the unit properly.

  5. Back To Top    #5
    Mod Squad jblizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    37,389

    Re: Question about AL-0, AL-1, AL-3 etc Aqua Rite

    Thanks James. I did not know that Jandy automation would communicate with the AquaRite.
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

  6. Back To Top    #6
    ned8377's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    Wake Forest, NC
    Posts
    239

    Re: Question about AL-0, AL-1, AL-3 etc Aqua Rite

    Thanks JamesW!! The reason I asked about this is because I had inadvertently switched to AL-4 which made the default the percent output. I called Hayward and they told me how to switch it back to AL-0 which is Aqua Rite. Further research revealed that there were AL 1-5 codes.

    I've had a huge problem with the display not working right and showing garbage as well and the lights not working right as well as needing a new cell. Anyway, I was able to get the display to work but that is when it started going back to the percent output instead of average salt. Turns out there was a short in the PCB that fits over top of the main PCB. The smaller PCB with the display and lights was messing up when it was moved slightly and had gotten in a bad position. I was able to wedge a piece of cardboard between the metal frame and the bottom of the digital display and now it works fine. I had ordered a cell, main PCB and smaller PCB that fits over top of the main PCB from Amazon. I needed the cell but can probably send back the PCB's once I verify that it is working for a while.

    Many thanks JamesW. I did not think anyone was going to answer this but you are a real TFP Expert.
    True L 45,000 gal Hayward IG vinyl pool. Hayward Tristar 2.40 THP; 1.5 FRHP/1.60 SF. Hayward Model # S310T2 Sand Filter. Aqua Rite T-15. Aqua Comfort 154,000 BTU Heat Pump. TF-100

  7. Back To Top    #7

    In the Industry

    Hayward Pool's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Elizabeth
    Posts
    415

    Re: Question about AL-0, AL-1, AL-3 etc Aqua Rite

    AL-5 for communication with Jandy may not work anymore as Jandy blocked this once Hayward bought the Goldline brand.
    Hayward Pool Tech
    80+ Years of Technologically Advanced Pool Product Manufacturing
    poolside@haywardnet.com

  8. Back To Top    #8

    Re: Question about AL-0, AL-1, AL-3 etc Aqua Rite

    AL-6 and AL-7 are used on the aquatrol, which is an aquarite with a timer for above ground pools.

  9. Back To Top    #9

    Re: Question about AL-0, AL-1, AL-3 etc Aqua Rite

    Quote Originally Posted by ned8377 View Post
    Thanks JamesW!! The reason I asked about this is because I had inadvertently switched to AL-4 which made the default the percent output. I called Hayward and they told me how to switch it back to AL-0 which is Aqua Rite. Further research revealed that there were AL 1-5 codes.
    Yes, thank you! I think my flash got scrambled because my cell was set to T-5 and my display defaulted to percent instead of average salt level. I knew how to fix the cell type, but couldn't find the info on the default display.
    My Pool: 18'x36' Grecian. Vinyl Liner, 500# sand filter, SWG.

    My hobbies: Brewing beer and flying rockets.

  10. Back To Top    #10

    Re: Question about AL-0, AL-1, AL-3 etc Aqua Rite

    Erratic setting changes are usually due to a bad connection between the back board and the display board. Try removing and reinstalling the display board.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •