Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Newbies in search of help and tips for getting started

1. Back To Top    #1

Newbies in search of help and tips for getting started

Hi. Complete newbie here in need of some help. My husband and I recently bought a house that came with a rather large (at least to me) above ground pool. The previous owners filled the pool for our home inspection, so water has been sitting in the pool since late January. In the last couple of days, the water has begun to turn green as the weather gets warmer. We just figured out the sand filter/pump, but that's as far as we have gotten. Basically, we have very little idea what we are doing and no manuals or anything were left behind for our edification. We ordered the TF100 test kit, but it hasn't arrived yet. What additional items/quantities should be purchase to be prepared for the upkeep of our pool? We'd like to purchase supplies to be ready soon. Any pointers/recommendations for getting started once we have the test kit are appreciated.

http://tftestkits.net/TF-100-Test-Kit-p4.html
    Supercal
    18,000 gallons, above ground pool, vinyl liner. Swim Pro SW256T Sand Filter, 80GPM, 35 GMP/ftsq
    More than 3 years old
    Well water

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Newbies in search of help and tips for getting started

Welcome to TFP!

You are going to need bleach ... A lot of it ... to follow the SLAM process to clear up the pool. Until you have test results, everything else is unknown.

Have you read Pool School yet? That may help with your understanding the chemistry.

Congrats on the pool, while it is daunting at first, soon it will be easy to maintain and fun to enjoy.
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir