Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 40

Thread: chlorine levels

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    San Antonio, TX
    Posts
    38

    chlorine levels

    How long should a vs pump run on high (3k rpm) to keep chlorine levels at norm?
    San Antonio TX 14K Gal in ground free form jandy vs pump with DE filter polaris cleaning system with auto feed chlorinater, JandyJXi400N natural gas heater

  2. Back To Top    #2
    Mod Squad JohnT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    SW Indiana
    Posts
    9,089

    Re: chlorine levels

    Welcome to TFP!

    Chlorination occurs on high or on low, so the answer is to check your chlorine level everyday and adjust your run time as needed. Be very careful with tablets as you can quickly get excessive CYA levels with them. Half a season is usually more than enough to run into problematic levels.
    TFP Moderator
    20K Gallon 20X36 Vinyl Inground
    Hayward S244T Sand Filter with 1HP Whisperflo Pump. Liquidator C-201 and Solar Heat

  3. Back To Top    #3

    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    San Antonio, TX
    Posts
    38

    Re: chlorine levels

    I understand about the cya levels that you guys harp on on this site and new to owning a pool so due take it into consideration. We just filled the pool a week ago after a three month build process but chlorine seems to be low. All other chem levels are good just some what chlorine levels. Am I wrong in saying when at the higher speed of vs pump that more water flows through chlorinater putting out more chlorine?
    San Antonio TX 14K Gal in ground free form jandy vs pump with DE filter polaris cleaning system with auto feed chlorinater, JandyJXi400N natural gas heater

  4. Back To Top    #4

    In the Industry

    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Cape cod
    Posts
    8

    Re: chlorine levels

    For an erosion type feeder, yes. The faster your are putting water through, the quicker the tabs will dissolve. Most units have a dial as well that can increase flow through the unit. What are we talking about for a low chlorine? If your are keeping up with the chlorine demand then all is well. You can always bump it up with a powdered or liquid chlorine and then let the tabs maintain without adding more cya than you have to.

  5. Back To Top    #5
    Smykowski's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Gurnee, IL (North Suburban Chi-town)
    Posts
    3,065

    Re: chlorine levels

    It's hard to answer your question because very few of us use tablets in a chlorinator. The vast majority of us dose manually with liquid bleach, or automated with a salt water generator or some type of automatic bleach dispensing system (peristaltic pump).

    In general, yes higher flow from either pump setting or chlorinator setting will result in faster tablet dissolve times.
    33' round, 23,000 gal AG vinyl , 1HP 2spd PowerFlo Matrix downsized with 3/4HP impeller (X2), Hayward S180T 150# sand filter (X2), Hayward H250 NG heater Pool Store year 1 - $850 for 2 months; Pool Store year 2 - $440 for 2 months, TFPC year 1 - $170 for 4 months; TFPC year 2 - $95 for 4.5 months
    The most important article on this site - The ABCs of Pool Water Chemistry

  6. Back To Top    #6

    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    San Antonio, TX
    Posts
    38

    Re: chlorine levels

    Perfect! That does answer my question. The chlorinater does have a dail 1-5 to increase if needed. Would you be able to tell me on a average how long someone would have the setting set to have the pump on high to Increase levels? Example right now my polaris runs a total of four hours in a 24 he period , 2 hrs in the a.m. and 2 hrs in the p.m. That is the only time it is running on higher speed. Obviously this is not long enough to put enough chlorine in the pool. So I do understand about using liquid chlorine to subsidize or increase the level and let the tabs do the maintaining , but how long should I increase my higher pump speed time to bring the levels to norm?
    San Antonio TX 14K Gal in ground free form jandy vs pump with DE filter polaris cleaning system with auto feed chlorinater, JandyJXi400N natural gas heater

  7. Back To Top    #7
    Patrick_B's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Midland TX
    Posts
    15,001

    Re: chlorine levels

    Quote Originally Posted by Bobby72 View Post
    For an erosion type feeder, yes. The faster your are putting water through, the quicker the tabs will dissolve. Most units have a dial as well that can increase flow through the unit. What are we talking about for a low chlorine? If your are keeping up with the chlorine demand then all is well. You can always bump it up with a powdered or liquid chlorine and then let the tabs maintain without adding more cya than you have to.
    That's true about the powder provided you know what your pool Calcium level is. Using Cal-Hypo can increase the CH to a higher than desired level. Using Dichlor Powder will increase Cya, so that has to be considered as well.
    TFP Moderator
    Essential Links:
    ABC's Of Pool Chemistry, Test Kits, SLAM Your Pool
    28K Gal IG FreeForm, CLI Quartz, Pentair 36"SF & VS Pump, Dolphin M5, Rheem

  8. Back To Top    #8
    Smykowski's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Gurnee, IL (North Suburban Chi-town)
    Posts
    3,065

    Re: chlorine levels

    Quote Originally Posted by gjconn View Post
    Perfect! That does answer my question. The chlorinater does have a dail 1-5 to increase if needed. Would you be able to tell me on a average how long someone would have the setting set to have the pump on high to Increase levels? Example right now my polaris runs a total of four hours in a 24 he period , 2 hrs in the a.m. and 2 hrs in the p.m. That is the only time it is running on higher speed. Obviously this is not long enough to put enough chlorine in the pool. So I do understand about using liquid chlorine to subsidize or increase the level and let the tabs do the maintaining , but how long should I increase my higher pump speed time to bring the levels to norm?
    Liquid to subsidize and tabs to maintain is certainly an option, but again, most of us don't use tabs exclusively. Long term tab use will usually lead to problems down the road.

    Remember that chlorine is consumable. Even in a perfectly clean pool, chlorine must be continually replenished.

    Pump run time and FC levels are (in general) two different situations. Most people can get away with 4-6 hour run time. I personally am around 7-8 hours. Users with 2 speed pumps will run on a very low setting most of the day and kick it up to high only if a high flow rate is required for vacuuming, water features, etc. The exception to the above is for people with SWGs, which rely on flow rate to generate chlorine. However, in those situations, people seem to strive for the lowest RPM setting that will make the SWG happy, and adjust the % to get the required FC (so, pump run time is determined first, and they back into SWG setting).

    I'm sorry to be giving so much info in generalities, but again, most of us either don't use the chlorinators, or completely remove them from our systems. More info can be found in Pool School (link in the upper right corner of every page).
    33' round, 23,000 gal AG vinyl , 1HP 2spd PowerFlo Matrix downsized with 3/4HP impeller (X2), Hayward S180T 150# sand filter (X2), Hayward H250 NG heater Pool Store year 1 - $850 for 2 months; Pool Store year 2 - $440 for 2 months, TFPC year 1 - $170 for 4 months; TFPC year 2 - $95 for 4.5 months
    The most important article on this site - The ABCs of Pool Water Chemistry

  9. Back To Top    #9

    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    San Antonio, TX
    Posts
    38

    Re: chlorine levels

    I understand on this site you guys push to not use or recommend not to use the tabs due to cya levels increasing and causing issues down the road. You guys have been great about getting to my question of increasing my run time at a higher speed to increase chlorine levels, thx. Was also hoping others would read this and give input as to how long they run vs pump at the higher speeds. I know there are mannnnyyyyyy different ways to achieve results and different things work for different people in all different situations. That is why this forum is so useful.
    San Antonio TX 14K Gal in ground free form jandy vs pump with DE filter polaris cleaning system with auto feed chlorinater, JandyJXi400N natural gas heater

  10. Back To Top    #10
    JasonLion's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Silver Spring, MD
    Posts
    37,879

    Re: chlorine levels

    The time is completely different for every pool and different for the same pool at different times of year.

    The usual approach is to determine your pump run time separately, and then adjust the dial on the chlorinator until you get the desired chlorine level. In any case there is no way to figure out the correct dial setting (or pump run time if you are using that) other than trying it out and seeing what happens. The correct setting will also vary through the pool season as the water temperature, amount of sunlight, and CYA level vary.
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

  11. Back To Top    #11

    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    San Antonio, TX
    Posts
    38

    Re: chlorine levels

    Jason thx so much for that info, as I see that is what I will have to do till if can get a good feel for it. Again, being new to all this the more info and input I can get is more than welcome. Keep it coming!!
    San Antonio TX 14K Gal in ground free form jandy vs pump with DE filter polaris cleaning system with auto feed chlorinater, JandyJXi400N natural gas heater

  12. Back To Top    #12

    In the Industry

    duraleigh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Sebring, Florida
    Posts
    30,084

    Re: chlorine levels

    What will be your normal CYA and chlorine levels you are shooting for?
    Dave S.
    42k vinyl and concrete pool, 1.5hp pump, 140gpm filter
    TFTestkits , PoolMath , Pool School

  13. Back To Top    #13

    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    San Antonio, TX
    Posts
    38

    Re: chlorine levels

    Dave the kit that was given to me via the builder is a simple test kit which does not show cya. it is a kit that tests the basic chlorine, ph, alk and acid demand. but chlorine levels should be in the 2-3 ppm if i am correct. Again they just started up the pool last week so I am sure the cya is not an issue at this time. I do plan on getting a better kit soon.
    San Antonio TX 14K Gal in ground free form jandy vs pump with DE filter polaris cleaning system with auto feed chlorinater, JandyJXi400N natural gas heater

  14. Back To Top    #14

    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    4,052

    Re: chlorine levels

    You can't know the proper chlorine level without knowing CYA.
    Built in 1957 44,000 gallon in-ground, Wet Edge Primera Stone in Sky Blue, Intelliflo VF Pump, 600 lb. Pentair Triton II TR-100 Sand Filter, CircuPool RG 60 Plus SWG, TF-100 test kit
    If TFP has helped you, please click to SUPPORT TFP!

  15. Back To Top    #15

    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    San Antonio, TX
    Posts
    38

    Re: chlorine levels

    The kit given has chlorine, ph , alkalinity and acid demand. This kit shows the colors that should be and the range you should be at, no cya . So then I would not know what my desired level of chlorine would be but as long as the color shade says I am good then chlorine level is good
    San Antonio TX 14K Gal in ground free form jandy vs pump with DE filter polaris cleaning system with auto feed chlorinater, JandyJXi400N natural gas heater

  16. Back To Top    #16
    pwrstrk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Elverson Pa.
    Posts
    4,758

    chlorine levels

    The color is showing there's X amount of chlorine in the water. You need to know if it's the right amount of chlorine for the CYA level. If you don't keep the FC level in range for the CYA level your going to have problems with algae outbreaks.
    http://www.troublefreepool.com/conte...art-slam-shock. 😎
    Jeff
    24'x54" AG Morada RTR (by wilbar) 13'500 gal. Hayward Powerflo Matrix 1hp 2 speed. Hayward Perflex EC65 DE filter.

  17. Back To Top    #17
    Mod Squad jblizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    37,389

    Re: chlorine levels

    With no CYA in the pool, the sun will destroy the chlorine very fast, like hours. And once you get CYA in the water, then you need to maintain higher FC levels, but actually will add less each day.

    You should seriously get one of the recommended test kits or you are working in the dark.
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

  18. Back To Top    #18
    JasonLion's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Silver Spring, MD
    Posts
    37,879

    Re: chlorine levels

    No, not really. "but as long as the color shade says I am good then chlorine level is good" is only even remotely true if CYA is fairly low.

    Perhaps you could purchase a better test kit (by far the best option), or take a sample to a pool store and get them to measure the CYA level (a good short term option), of if you know everything that has been added to the pool since it was filled you could try to figure out what the CYA level might be (hit or miss but better than nothing).
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

  19. Back To Top    #19

    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    San Antonio, TX
    Posts
    38

    Re: chlorine levels

    Totally agree on getting different kit and will do that. It's been6days since the pool was filled and should be going to the Pool store this weekend to get new kit that will show cya along with the other readings.
    San Antonio TX 14K Gal in ground free form jandy vs pump with DE filter polaris cleaning system with auto feed chlorinater, JandyJXi400N natural gas heater

  20. Back To Top    #20
    Patrick_B's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Midland TX
    Posts
    15,001

    Re: chlorine levels

    The pool store will likely not have the kit with everything you need. If they do, it will be a Taylor K-2006. They may say K-2005 has everything, but it won't. The best deal on the market is a TF 100 kit. It has the same Taylor reagents as the K 2006, but more of the ones you'll run out of most quickly.
    TFP Moderator
    Essential Links:
    ABC's Of Pool Chemistry, Test Kits, SLAM Your Pool
    28K Gal IG FreeForm, CLI Quartz, Pentair 36"SF & VS Pump, Dolphin M5, Rheem

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •