Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: SLAM questions..

1. Back To Top    #1

SLAM questions..

Ok so it's my first time doing SLAM..at least properly anyway...

Pool was drained and acid washed back in April 1)'cuz it needed it and 2) last season had mustard algae from **** that I unsuccessfully attempted to treat. Thought that acid wash would eliminate any residual algae.....but no, it's back and likely my fault for not paying attention to FC levels during very warm SoCal weather and very warm solar heated pool.

Fast forward to right now. I have pool up to mustard algae shock level according to pool calc. What is unclear to me in the SLAM instructions is the duration of time that I must keep pool at this high shock level. I have no CC reading....never do. So say if I go take a nap right now for an hour or so, should I test again and bring it back up to mustard shock level once again? Twice again? When do I stop and let the liquid chlorine do it's job and kill the nasty buggers while I thoroughly brush every surface?

I understand about testing tomorrow morning and seeing what the chlorine loss overnight is....just fuzzy on the middle part...

Thanks!
    15000 gal. in ground quartz agg./ lazy L
    Pentair Whisperflow 1.5/Pentair FNS D.E. filter
    Solar Heat
    Hayward Navigator sweep
    San Diego, CA

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: SLAM questions..

How do you know you have Mustard Algae?

Have you looked at this pool school article? http://www.troublefreepool.com/pool-.../mustard_algae

Bottom line you do the normal SLAM process until you pass all three criteria simultaneously, then for 24 hours you do Mustard algea SLAM levels (make sure you read the article for the details).