Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Newbie Here

1. Back To Top    #1

Newbie Here

Hello All, I am a new member to the forum. Glad to be part of this awesome pool community. A little about me. My name is Robert. I have lived in Oregon all my life with no pool until now. I just recently moved to Las Vegas, Nevada and rented a house with a pool in April. First pool ever. I have learned a lot in the past 2 months but wanted to share my pool and experiences thus far.

Here she is in all her glory. Freshly Filled and Opened:

My problem when I came home from work to find the landscapers blew all the yard debris into my pool and turned it green:
    Quickly cleared up with 2lbs of Shock

Everything was going well up until last week when I left it alone for a week and it turned Swampy on me:
    This is after 3 Cups of Muriatic Acid and 2lbs of Shock

Pulled my filter to find out the consequences of my neglect:

After a good cleaning, we are good to go:

With Chlorine Good and PH Good I added 9 cap fulls of Pool First aid:

Here is the jankie pump and filter setup I cant comprehend:
    (Rental Home) 17k Gallon, Fiberglass In-ground, Hayward 1.5HP Single Speed, Cartridge Filter, Kreepy Krawly Pool Cleaner

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Newbie Here

Hi, welcome to TFP!
    TFP Moderator
    Helpful links: TF Test Kits,TFP Pool School, PoolMath
    Vogue 21' round AG, Pentair 1 hp 2 speed pump, 36 sq ft DE filter, Hayward S180T 150# sand filter, Houston, Texas
    Love TFP? Become a
    TFP Supporter!

3. Back To Top    #3

Hi Robert and welcome to the forum
    TFP Moderator TF100 Test Kit TF100 TestKit YouTube Channel PoolMath
    You're done SLAMing when:
    1)You lose 1ppm or less FC overnight, & 2)You have .5ppm CC's or less, & 3)your water is clear.

~ One should not use a sledge hammer to swat a mosquito. ~

If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

4. Back To Top    #4

Welcome to TFP!