Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Refilling due to CYA?

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Long Island NY
    Posts
    419

    Refilling due to CYA?

    My CYA was 120. I just drained 1/3 and refilling now. My question is, after it's refilled do I run the pump to mix the new water with the old? Or can I drain off another 1/3 as soon as its filled?

    Thanks for your help?
    19,000 gal - Vinyl IG - Sand filter -1.5hp. - Taylor k 2006 - Loop Loc cover

  2. Back To Top    #2

    In the Industry

    duraleigh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Sebring, Florida
    Posts
    30,077

    Re: Refilling due to CYA?

    Just refilling would probably blend it enough but I would run the pump for 20 minutes and then drain.
    Dave S.
    42k vinyl and concrete pool, 1.5hp pump, 140gpm filter
    TFTestkits , PoolMath , Pool School

  3. Back To Top    #3
    Richard320's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    San Dimas, CA (LA County)
    Posts
    18,768

    Re: Refilling due to CYA?

    Quote Originally Posted by samt
    My CYA was 120. I just drained 1/3 and refilling now. My question is, after it's refilled do I run the pump to mix the new water with the old? Or can I drain off another 1/3 as soon as its filled?

    Thanks for your help?
    Let it mix together. You can speed it up by brushing. How's the water look?
    16K freeform gunite with spa; Pentair 4000 DE filter; Century Whisperflow 1 HP; Pentair Minimax heater.
    Troublefree does not mean Maintenancefree. It's like brushing your teeth: You can spend a couple minutes a day and pennies a week or go to the dentist once a year and spend several thousand dollars.
    A pool is like a pet - you have to feed it every day, even the days you don't want to play with it!

  4. Back To Top    #4

    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Long Island NY
    Posts
    419

    Re: Refilling due to CYA?

    Thanks guys, the water is a little cloudy, I can see the bottom @ 8' but since I had a high CYA my plan was to take another 1/3 out and then re- test. Skipping the test after the first 1/3.

    I would like to get the cya as close to 50 as I can and I just don't think removing 1/3 will do it.

    Do you think this is a good plan? I'm trying to conserve my r0013reagent.
    19,000 gal - Vinyl IG - Sand filter -1.5hp. - Taylor k 2006 - Loop Loc cover

  5. Back To Top    #5
    Richard320's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    San Dimas, CA (LA County)
    Posts
    18,768

    Re: Refilling due to CYA?

    Quote Originally Posted by samt
    Thanks guys, the water is a little cloudy, I can see the bottom @ 8' but since I had a high CYA my plan was to take another 1/3 out and then re- test. Skipping the test after the first 1/3.

    I would like to get the cya as close to 50 as I can and I just don't think removing 1/3 will do it.

    Do you think this is a good plan? I'm trying to conserve my r0013reagent.
    Hmmm...120 * 2/3 = 80

    80 * 2/3 = 53.33

    I'd call it close enough. That CYA test isn't all that accurate and easy to use.
    16K freeform gunite with spa; Pentair 4000 DE filter; Century Whisperflow 1 HP; Pentair Minimax heater.
    Troublefree does not mean Maintenancefree. It's like brushing your teeth: You can spend a couple minutes a day and pennies a week or go to the dentist once a year and spend several thousand dollars.
    A pool is like a pet - you have to feed it every day, even the days you don't want to play with it!

  6. Back To Top    #6

    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Long Island NY
    Posts
    419

    Re: Refilling due to CYA?

    Ok, just completed removing another 1/3 and started refilling. I did do another cya test this am to see where I was at and recorded 80 on the cya. As expected. Nope not good enough. So I did a little less than a 1/3 the second time.

    What ever I end up with this time I will live with, and count on back washing to lower even more. Even though that will be not much most likely .

    My next move will be the PH.
    19,000 gal - Vinyl IG - Sand filter -1.5hp. - Taylor k 2006 - Loop Loc cover

  7. Back To Top    #7

    Re: Refilling due to CYA?

    I'd like to chime in here if I may. You say CYA test is not Accurate. Every time I test with my Taylor 2005 kit, it comes out as 60.
    I go to a store like Ace or Leslie & they come up with over 100. Is there no sure Test for CYA. Very frustrating to say the least.
    So I know I'm suppose to believe my test instead of the stores.
    I've done test many times. Putting it to my waist, back towards the sun.
    When Black Dot disappears & I read the vial it's at 60.
    20' X 40' Rectangular Gunite Pool with Spa
    28,000 Gallons
    Sand Filter
    Rainbow Chlorinator
    Penair Pump
    Polaris 280

  8. Back To Top    #8
    Richard320's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    San Dimas, CA (LA County)
    Posts
    18,768

    Re: Refilling due to CYA?

    Quote Originally Posted by dino1956
    I'd like to chime in here if I may. You say CYA test is not Accurate. Every time I test with my Taylor 2005 kit, it comes out as 60.
    I go to a store like Ace or Leslie & they come up with over 100. Is there no sure Test for CYA. Very frustrating to say the least.
    So I know I'm suppose to believe my test instead of the stores.
    I've done test many times. Putting it to my waist, back towards the sun.
    When Black Dot disappears & I read the vial it's at 60.
    There is a way to tell.

    See what reagents you might need to refill, in order to minimize shipping charges, and add them to your order of this. It is a known 50PPM CYA standard. Do the test and see if you get 50. If not, experiment with light, background, distance, whatever it takes to read 50 consistently. Then you know how to do it.

    The precision of the test, when done correctly, is around plus or minus 15 for levels up to 90 and plus or minus 30 for levels between 100 and 200.

    --http://www.troublefreepool.com/exten...ns-t25081.html
    16K freeform gunite with spa; Pentair 4000 DE filter; Century Whisperflow 1 HP; Pentair Minimax heater.
    Troublefree does not mean Maintenancefree. It's like brushing your teeth: You can spend a couple minutes a day and pennies a week or go to the dentist once a year and spend several thousand dollars.
    A pool is like a pet - you have to feed it every day, even the days you don't want to play with it!

  9. Back To Top    #9

    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Long Island NY
    Posts
    419

    Re: Refilling due to CYA?

    Yea, I bet the cya is just a ballpark number, when you think about true volume of your pool vs volume calculators how close is that ? I going to section out my pool this summer and find out.

    Also any test that has directions that say - Back to sun , waist high and look for a black dot to disappear that alone has to say its a ball park test.
    19,000 gal - Vinyl IG - Sand filter -1.5hp. - Taylor k 2006 - Loop Loc cover

  10. Back To Top    #10

    Re: Refilling due to CYA?

    So I guess since my test from my kit always comes out to 60, I am truly at 60. I was told by everyone on here to not go by store tests. So the store tests that are over 100 have to be wrong, correct? And as far as doing the test correctly, there is really not that much to it. Although I would think there is a discrepancy with people's vision with seeing the dot or not seeing the dot.
    20' X 40' Rectangular Gunite Pool with Spa
    28,000 Gallons
    Sand Filter
    Rainbow Chlorinator
    Penair Pump
    Polaris 280

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •