Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Filter pressure doubles in less than 24hours

1. Back To Top    #1

Filter pressure doubles in less than 24hours

Hello. This is my first time posting on TFP. See my signature for details of equipment.

My pressure is running very high (30+). I backwashed yesterday morning at 10am for 3 mins and then rinse for 30 sec. Cleaned out skimmer baskets and pump filter basket. During backwash, pressure is 11 psi. After backwash, pressure is 13 psi. By 10am today, pressure is 31 psi. The sand was changed in April of this year. Pressure was still increasing. After I found TFP, I read pool school and changed the pressure gauge and a new pump filter basket. Nothing seems to be working to keep the pressure from more than doubling every 24 hours. My heater won't work when the pressure gets above 22. The LCD screen on the heater says PRS - CLEAN FILTER/STRAINER.

The water was clear yesterday but is cloudy today. We had a lot of rain storms last night so that might be why it's cloudy today.

TC = 2
    FC = 3
    CC = 1
    PH = 7.6
    TA = 80
    CH = don't have test for this
    CYA = don't have test for this
    Borates = don't use

Please help!!

Thanks,
    ARS
    Pool: 10K gal, IG PebbleTec, Pentair
    Spa: 500 gal, IG PebbleTec, Pentair
    Built 2010

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Filter pressure doubles in less than 24hours

Cloudy water is indicative of a chemistry problem. Without knowing the CYA level, it's anybody's guess if the FC level is adequate. My guess is it's not. You're filtering out algae too small to see with the naked eye, but more is growing to replace it, hence the filter being overwhelmed. You need to get on top of it and start killing it faster than it can reproduce if you ever want to have crystal clear sparkly water.

[center:1ks521rv][/center:1ks521rv]
    16K freeform gunite with spa; Pentair 4000 DE filter; Century Whisperflow 1 HP; Pentair Minimax heater.