Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 35

Thread: Pentair Screenlogic2 and Easy Touch

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Pentair Screenlogic2 and Easy Touch

    We are having a pool and Easytouch installed next month. Our PB wants to charge us $925 for the iPhone interface. I see the equipment online for $400 or so. Is this a difficult install or something we can add later for $4xx?
    Chesterfield, MO
    In Ground vinyl liner pool
    - Lagoon Shape - 40'x30'x20'
    - Intelliflo VS Pump
    - Intellichlor Salt System
    - Triton II Sand Filter
    - Pentair MasterTemp Heater
    - EZ Touch Controller
    - Faux stone water feature with sheer descents
    - Turbo twister slide

  2. Back To Top    #2

    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Orange County, CA
    Posts
    696

    Re: Pentair Screenlogic2 and Easy Touch

    It obviously depends on several factors... how computer savy are you, is there a place where you can install the Screen Logic 2 interface box near a communication cable from the EasyTouch, is there an ethernet cable or WiFi bridge near where the Screen Logic interface will be sited, and are you comfortable opening the EasyTouch panel to set it up? $500 to install this does seem steep to me. If your equipment pad is near the house, it could be as simple as running some 4-wire twisted pair cable (or CAT5e/6) from the pool pad into the house near your WiFi router. You hook the Screen Logic interface box (which is a bridge between the RS485 protocol that the EasyTouch uses to communicate and the ethernet protocol that your computers use) into a communications port on the EasyTouch, and an ethernet cable also plugs into the interface box. Then, you access the interface with a computer that is connected to your home LAN via the Screen Logic 2 software. Conceptually, it sounds very simple. The directions for installing the Screen Logic 2 kit also seem very straightforward, but this may involve some tweaking of your router's parameters to get this to work with an iPhone or other device outside of your LAN via the internet (e.g. opening ports, etc).
    38K in ground pool with attached spa. Current equipment: Easytouch 8 (521150) with IC-60 SWCG with web control by Autelis, 1x Pentair IntelliFlo 011018 pump (for filter), 1x Pentair 2HP WhisperFlo pump (for waterfall), 2X Pentair IntelliBrite 5G 12V lights, Pentair MiniMax400 NG Heater, Pentair SMBW2060 DE filter. Zodiac Barracuda MX8 cleaner on dedicated cleaner line. Lighting/home automation controlled by Insteon/ISY-99i.

  3. Back To Top    #3

    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Orange County, CA
    Posts
    696

    Re: Pentair Screenlogic2 and Easy Touch

    BTW, if your pool builder will be installing a wired control panel for the EasyTouch in your house, you could simply run the RS485 twisted pair wires from the control panel to your Screen Logic interface box.
    38K in ground pool with attached spa. Current equipment: Easytouch 8 (521150) with IC-60 SWCG with web control by Autelis, 1x Pentair IntelliFlo 011018 pump (for filter), 1x Pentair 2HP WhisperFlo pump (for waterfall), 2X Pentair IntelliBrite 5G 12V lights, Pentair MiniMax400 NG Heater, Pentair SMBW2060 DE filter. Zodiac Barracuda MX8 cleaner on dedicated cleaner line. Lighting/home automation controlled by Insteon/ISY-99i.

  4. Back To Top    #4

    Re: Pentair Screenlogic2 and Easy Touch

    We aren't getting a control panel in the house, as far as I know. So you have to run physical wire from the Easytouch at the equip pad to the area near our PC/router in the house? I saw some references to wifi but couldn't see anything definitive.
    Chesterfield, MO
    In Ground vinyl liner pool
    - Lagoon Shape - 40'x30'x20'
    - Intelliflo VS Pump
    - Intellichlor Salt System
    - Triton II Sand Filter
    - Pentair MasterTemp Heater
    - EZ Touch Controller
    - Faux stone water feature with sheer descents
    - Turbo twister slide

  5. Back To Top    #5

    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Broken Arrow, OK (Tulsa)
    Posts
    276

    Re: Pentair Screenlogic2 and Easy Touch

    In addition to the Easytouch panel you'll need the Pentair Screenlogic accessory (P/N 520500) which you've already found for around $400. With nothing else, you'd need to run a Cat 5/6 cable from the Easytouch panel to your router.

    You can avoid the cable run, however, but (naturally) it will cost you. You'd need Pentair's Wireless Adapter (P/N 520639), which connects into the Easytouch panel and provides wireless communicatin with your Screenlogic and router.

    I only checked one site online (Inyopools.com) and saw the 520500 at $479 and the 520639 at $560. The installation's not hard to do at all...and if you get stuck, Pentair's got good phone support to help walk you thru it.
    16 x 31, Approx. 12,000 Gal Freeform IG pool; Flagstone coping; Quartzscapes Super Blue plaster finish; Tanning ledge w/2 bubblers; 1 HP Pentair Whisperflo pump, Pentair sand filter; (2) Pentair Intellibrite LEDs w/controller; Easytouch8 w/IC-40 SWG; Salt finish concrete decking.

  6. Back To Top    #6

    Re: Pentair Screenlogic2 and Easy Touch

    Thank you. I thought this was the case but wasn't sure. Thanks for clearing it up!
    Chesterfield, MO
    In Ground vinyl liner pool
    - Lagoon Shape - 40'x30'x20'
    - Intelliflo VS Pump
    - Intellichlor Salt System
    - Triton II Sand Filter
    - Pentair MasterTemp Heater
    - EZ Touch Controller
    - Faux stone water feature with sheer descents
    - Turbo twister slide

  7. Back To Top    #7

    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Montgomery Texas
    Posts
    89

    Re: Pentair Screenlogic2 and Easy Touch

    I did the wireless adapter and it was very easy. I would do the whole install my self if I were you it's very easy. Then call pentair and they will help you with the set up! Or I will help ya. Steve
    24X38'ish 23,500 gallon Geometric with 10x10 spa(12jets), Pentair IC40 SWG, Pentair intelliflow(pool-spa), pentair whispersflow 2HP(booster spa jets), Two Polaris 1.5 Hp blowers, Pentair Wisperflow XF 3HP(2 6 foot water falls), Pentair clean&clear plus 520, Pentair Master temp 400. Intelli PH acid dispenser, Intellitouch with iPhone and iPad control. Two 45000 BTU fire bowls and one 60000 BTU fire pit.

  8. Back To Top    #8

    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Orange County, CA
    Posts
    696

    Re: Pentair Screenlogic2 and Easy Touch

    You need some way to get the control signals to the Easytouch from your computer. This can be done with either a RS485 cable or an ethernet cable. It simply depends on where you want to locate the interface box. As described, an alternative is to use a WiFi signal. For this, you would need a wireless router somewhere in your home that can reliably be connected to near the pool pad. Then, you would need a wireless "bridge" to pick up WiFi broadcasts and convert them back to ethernet. You can purchase WiFi to ethernet bridges, or you can convert an old router (e.g. the Linksys WRT-54G) to an ethernet bridge using either DD-WRT or Tomato router firmware.

    So, the simplest and likely most reliable connection would be to run ethernet cabling from your WiFi router to the pool pad, and then connect up the Screen Logic interface box next to the EasyTouch. Or you could just run RS485 (requires fewer wires and thus is cheaper cabling) to your router inside your home, connect the interface box near the router via a short ethernet cable. Either of these ways does not use WiFi. The third method involves the use of WiFi and is the most complicated, but minimal from a cabling perspective. All of these seem pretty straightforward to me.
    38K in ground pool with attached spa. Current equipment: Easytouch 8 (521150) with IC-60 SWCG with web control by Autelis, 1x Pentair IntelliFlo 011018 pump (for filter), 1x Pentair 2HP WhisperFlo pump (for waterfall), 2X Pentair IntelliBrite 5G 12V lights, Pentair MiniMax400 NG Heater, Pentair SMBW2060 DE filter. Zodiac Barracuda MX8 cleaner on dedicated cleaner line. Lighting/home automation controlled by Insteon/ISY-99i.

  9. Back To Top    #9

    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Broken Arrow, OK (Tulsa)
    Posts
    276

    Re: Pentair Screenlogic2 and Easy Touch

    Hopefully, Bfassler, you understand that the wireless adapter won't ALWAYS work, right? What I mean by that is if you mount it on an exterior stucco wall, it may very well not work for you, because there's a lot of wire mesh behind stucco that could interfere with the wireless signal.
    16 x 31, Approx. 12,000 Gal Freeform IG pool; Flagstone coping; Quartzscapes Super Blue plaster finish; Tanning ledge w/2 bubblers; 1 HP Pentair Whisperflo pump, Pentair sand filter; (2) Pentair Intellibrite LEDs w/controller; Easytouch8 w/IC-40 SWG; Salt finish concrete decking.

  10. Back To Top    #10

    Re: Pentair Screenlogic2 and Easy Touch

    Yes, that has occurred to me. We already have issues with our wifi range. I'm gonna ask the PB what they were including when they bid me $925. Thanks for the comments though.
    Chesterfield, MO
    In Ground vinyl liner pool
    - Lagoon Shape - 40'x30'x20'
    - Intelliflo VS Pump
    - Intellichlor Salt System
    - Triton II Sand Filter
    - Pentair MasterTemp Heater
    - EZ Touch Controller
    - Faux stone water feature with sheer descents
    - Turbo twister slide

  11. Back To Top    #11

    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Location
    Arkansas
    Posts
    343

    Re: Pentair Screenlogic2 and Easy Touch

    What route did you end up going? I too am leaning towards an EasyTouch 8, but trying to identify specifically which additional modules and PNs I need to add iPhone connectivity (screenlogic2?) and wireless capability. Currently our PB has quoted $4,500+ for IntelliTouch and other unspecific equipment to accomplish this.

    Thanks!
    17'x35' 22,500 gal. Gunite IGP 3.5-8.0 ft. IC60 SWG, 2 skimmers, 2 main drains, 4 returns. CCP520 cartridge filter, 3hp IntelliFlo 2 VST VSP, EasyTouch 4, ScreenLogic2, 2 IntelliBrite Color LEDs, Poolmiser autofill, UltraTemp 120R H/C 125K BTU heat pump, Diamond Brite Super Blue, No spa or water features.

  12. Back To Top    #12
    Mod Squad Jimrahbe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Bedford, TX
    Posts
    3,183

    Re: Pentair Screenlogic2 and Easy Touch

    Miles,

    SunPlay sells a ScreenLogic Bundle, which includes all you need to connect your EasyTouch to your PC/phone/internet. It includes a Protocol Adapter with talks "Pentair" on one end and Ethernet on the other end. It also includes a short range RF receiver/transmitter set. You can run a cable between the EasyTouch and your House internet system, or you can use the RF link, they both do the same function.

    The Pentair P/N is 522104 and is about $400.

    Jim R.
    Finished in 2015 - 17K Gal, IG, 20' x 25' Almost Rectangular Pool, Pebble finish, three rockport water falls. Pentair Equipment: EasyTouch 4, IC40 SWG, 3 HP VS Pump, CCP520 Cartridge Filter.
    TF100 with SpeedStir and SampleSizer, ColorQ Pro 7, Dolphin Premier Robot Cleaner, added Screen Logic 2.

  13. Back To Top    #13

    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Location
    Arkansas
    Posts
    343

    Re: Pentair Screenlogic2 and Easy Touch

    Thanks Jim. Am following your advice and going with ScreenLogic2 integration with EasyTouch. Letting the PB install it all for warranty purposes.
    17'x35' 22,500 gal. Gunite IGP 3.5-8.0 ft. IC60 SWG, 2 skimmers, 2 main drains, 4 returns. CCP520 cartridge filter, 3hp IntelliFlo 2 VST VSP, EasyTouch 4, ScreenLogic2, 2 IntelliBrite Color LEDs, Poolmiser autofill, UltraTemp 120R H/C 125K BTU heat pump, Diamond Brite Super Blue, No spa or water features.

  14. Back To Top    #14
    Mod Squad Jimrahbe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Bedford, TX
    Posts
    3,183

    Re: Pentair Screenlogic2 and Easy Touch

    miles,

    I can guarantee that you will not regret getting ScreenLogic... The only downside is that having ScreenLogic with the initial installation will not allow you to fully understand the giant leap forward it is over the EasyTouch LCD control.

    You will just have to take my word for it.

    Jim R.
    Finished in 2015 - 17K Gal, IG, 20' x 25' Almost Rectangular Pool, Pebble finish, three rockport water falls. Pentair Equipment: EasyTouch 4, IC40 SWG, 3 HP VS Pump, CCP520 Cartridge Filter.
    TF100 with SpeedStir and SampleSizer, ColorQ Pro 7, Dolphin Premier Robot Cleaner, added Screen Logic 2.

  15. Back To Top    #15

    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Location
    Arkansas
    Posts
    343

    Re: Pentair Screenlogic2 and Easy Touch

    I trust you Also opted to upgrade from a CCP420 to a CCP520 filter and from IC40 to IC60 SWG.

    It's my understanding with ET automation the IC60 salt can be adjusted in 1% increments (instead of 20% manual steps), won't have to run as long as the IC40 and could improve the longevity of the salt cell.
    17'x35' 22,500 gal. Gunite IGP 3.5-8.0 ft. IC60 SWG, 2 skimmers, 2 main drains, 4 returns. CCP520 cartridge filter, 3hp IntelliFlo 2 VST VSP, EasyTouch 4, ScreenLogic2, 2 IntelliBrite Color LEDs, Poolmiser autofill, UltraTemp 120R H/C 125K BTU heat pump, Diamond Brite Super Blue, No spa or water features.

  16. Back To Top    #16
    Mod Squad Jimrahbe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Bedford, TX
    Posts
    3,183

    Re: Pentair Screenlogic2 and Easy Touch

    Miles,

    I have the CCP520 and only clean my filter twice a year. And you are correct that the IC60 will adjust in 1% increments when using the ET.

    Jim R.
    Finished in 2015 - 17K Gal, IG, 20' x 25' Almost Rectangular Pool, Pebble finish, three rockport water falls. Pentair Equipment: EasyTouch 4, IC40 SWG, 3 HP VS Pump, CCP520 Cartridge Filter.
    TF100 with SpeedStir and SampleSizer, ColorQ Pro 7, Dolphin Premier Robot Cleaner, added Screen Logic 2.

  17. Back To Top    #17

    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Location
    Arkansas
    Posts
    343

    Re: Pentair Screenlogic2 and Easy Touch

    Pool finally finished...start-up occurred today. PB doing an orientation with me this weekend but SL2 configured and accessible via iOS app. Eager to play around with it.

    Noticed it shows water temp but can't see IntelliFlo 2 VST pump. Under features, Booster Pump only thing enabled?


    17'x35' 22,500 gal. Gunite IGP 3.5-8.0 ft. IC60 SWG, 2 skimmers, 2 main drains, 4 returns. CCP520 cartridge filter, 3hp IntelliFlo 2 VST VSP, EasyTouch 4, ScreenLogic2, 2 IntelliBrite Color LEDs, Poolmiser autofill, UltraTemp 120R H/C 125K BTU heat pump, Diamond Brite Super Blue, No spa or water features.

  18. Back To Top    #18

    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Location
    Arkansas
    Posts
    343

    Re: Pentair Screenlogic2 and Easy Touch

    How do you reset/sync a ScreenLogic2 so that it properly reads the config from EasyTouch4 panel? They are clearly communicating however the settings visible within ScreenConnect aren't consistent with the ET4 panel.


    17'x35' 22,500 gal. Gunite IGP 3.5-8.0 ft. IC60 SWG, 2 skimmers, 2 main drains, 4 returns. CCP520 cartridge filter, 3hp IntelliFlo 2 VST VSP, EasyTouch 4, ScreenLogic2, 2 IntelliBrite Color LEDs, Poolmiser autofill, UltraTemp 120R H/C 125K BTU heat pump, Diamond Brite Super Blue, No spa or water features.

  19. Back To Top    #19
    Mod Squad Jimrahbe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Bedford, TX
    Posts
    3,183

    Re: Pentair Screenlogic2 and Easy Touch

    miles,

    Look at page 4 of 5 of the set up page...

    Page 4 of 5.jpg

    Under pump 1 does it say "Intelliflo VS" ?

    Jim R.
    Finished in 2015 - 17K Gal, IG, 20' x 25' Almost Rectangular Pool, Pebble finish, three rockport water falls. Pentair Equipment: EasyTouch 4, IC40 SWG, 3 HP VS Pump, CCP520 Cartridge Filter.
    TF100 with SpeedStir and SampleSizer, ColorQ Pro 7, Dolphin Premier Robot Cleaner, added Screen Logic 2.

  20. Back To Top    #20

    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Location
    Arkansas
    Posts
    343

    Re: Pentair Screenlogic2 and Easy Touch

    Yes. And my setup basic -- only have Circuit POOL set to IntelliFlo 2450 RPM. Have no spa, water features or booster pumps.

    My ScreenLogic app not even reflecting the correct water temp shown on the ET4 panel.

    I have to press the Pump button on the ET4 front panel to get pump to come on else it doesn't even activate from the SL2 mobile app. But the lights turned on/off on AUX 1 and AUX 2 do turn on and off from mobile to ET4.


    17'x35' 22,500 gal. Gunite IGP 3.5-8.0 ft. IC60 SWG, 2 skimmers, 2 main drains, 4 returns. CCP520 cartridge filter, 3hp IntelliFlo 2 VST VSP, EasyTouch 4, ScreenLogic2, 2 IntelliBrite Color LEDs, Poolmiser autofill, UltraTemp 120R H/C 125K BTU heat pump, Diamond Brite Super Blue, No spa or water features.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •