Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Can I shock if my cya is 0?

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    nyc
    Posts
    16

    Can I shock if my cya is 0?

    Can I shock if my cya is 0? I have a swg.
    Intex Ultra Frame Metal ABG Pool 16' round x 48"
    4000gph intex filter pump hooked up to 1500gph filter pump to solar bear 4'x20" solar panel to
    intex swg to pool
    deluxe intex maintenance kit, clearview vacuum head, tf100 test kit

  2. Back To Top    #2

    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Randleman,NC
    Posts
    620

    Re: Can I shock if my cya is 0?

    Yes,But I don't have a SWG..But,before shocking you need to make sure your water balance is in check..Shocking the pool will work alot better..Then you can get your Stabilizer in for CYA.
    Leasure bay AG 24ft,52 in high.installed June of 1999. Hayworth S-180 T sand filter/Power-Flo Matrix 1horse 2 speed pump /Aqua Trol SWG/Using TF-100 Test Kit

  3. Back To Top    #3

    In the Industry

    duraleigh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Sebring, Florida
    Posts
    30,084

    Re: Can I shock if my cya is 0?

    YOu certainly can but the buffering affect of around 20ppm CYA makes your FC a little easier to control. Don't tryto shock with your SWG...use Clorox. Why is your CYA zero with an SWG?
    Dave S.
    42k vinyl and concrete pool, 1.5hp pump, 140gpm filter
    TFTestkits , PoolMath , Pool School

  4. Back To Top    #4
    Mod Squad woodyp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    East Texas
    Posts
    9,000

    Re: Can I shock if my cya is 0?

    Go anhead and add CYA at 30 ppm and shock at that level. Don't run the SWG while shocking. After shocking, raise CYa level for your SWG.
    16x32x52" Steel Cornelius Miramar AGP Vinyl liner 13,100 gal. Buried 2 ft.
    2 Speed Hayward Power-Flo Matrix 85 g.p.m. 22" 250lb. sand filter hard plumbed
    Pool Rover Jr., Pool Blaster Max, Diver Dave TF100 Test Kit/Speed Stir
    Margaritaville Frozen Concoction Maker, Liqour Chiller, & Drink Mixer & Party Tub----Collect 'um all!

  5. Back To Top    #5

    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    nyc
    Posts
    16

    Re: Can I shock if my cya is 0?

    My cya is 0 cause I couldnt find my stabilizer from last year and procrastinated on buying another bottle.
    Intex Ultra Frame Metal ABG Pool 16' round x 48"
    4000gph intex filter pump hooked up to 1500gph filter pump to solar bear 4'x20" solar panel to
    intex swg to pool
    deluxe intex maintenance kit, clearview vacuum head, tf100 test kit

  6. Back To Top    #6
    Mod Squad jblizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    37,389

    Re: Can I shock if my cya is 0?

    Sounds like you need to go shopping for stabilizer and bleach....

    What are your full test results?

    Posted with Tapatalk ... sorry if I sound short ... hate typing on phone
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •