Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Ph keeps rising

1. Back To Top    #1

Ph keeps rising

What could cause my Ph to keep climbing? I can't get it to stay down at 7.5 for more than a week. It's getting very frustrating.

I have a SWG plaster pool, about 26000 gallons, finished in March of this year.
    20' x 40' / 33,000 gallon / IG / Vinyl
    200lb sand filter / 1hp pump
    4hrs full sun with about 45 min part sun before and after

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Ph keeps rising

Probably the new plaster. I'm not an expert on plaster pools, but if I remember from reading about the issue, new plaster will cause a significant pH rise for almost a year. Lots of MA at the beginning is just part of the process.
    33' round, 23,000 gal AG vinyl , 1HP 2spd PowerFlo Matrix downsized with 3/4HP impeller (X2), Hayward S180T 150# sand filter (X2), Hayward H250 NG heater Pool Store year 1 - $850 for 2 months; Pool Store year 2 - $440 for 2 months, TFPC year 1 - $170 for 4 months; TFPC year 2 - $95 for 4.5 months
    The most important article on this site - The ABCs of Pool Water Chemistry

3. Back To Top    #3

New plaster, high TA fill water, SWG, any water features like spa overflows or slides.
    16K freeform gunite with spa; Pentair 4000 DE filter; Century Whisperflow 1 HP; Pentair Minimax heater.
    Troublefree does not mean Maintenancefree. It's like brushing your teeth: You can spend a couple minutes a day and pennies a week or go to the dentist once a year and spend several thousand dollars.
    A pool is like a pet - you have to feed it every day, even the days you don't want to play with it!

4. Back To Top    #4

Quote Originally Posted by notenuftoys
    What could cause my Ph to keep climbing? I can't get it to stay down at 7.5 for more than a week. It's getting very frustrating.

I have a SWG plaster pool, about 26000 gallons, finished in March of this year.