Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Backswimmers, Argh. Oh, and Hi!

1. Back To Top    #1

Backswimmers, Argh. Oh, and Hi!

New here, I've been lurking since I started researching pool maintenance in September of 2011 when we purchased our house with a pool. Glad I've avoided the pitfalls of the pool store advice and have been on the BBB method this year. It's so easy, and my kids think I'm a scientist with my Taylor test kit.

First and formost my current levels

FC 10 <- I lose about .5ppm overnight and about 3ppm during the day with cover off
    PH 7.4
    TA 100
    CH 275
    CYA 40

Putting the cover on the pool for the night I noticed a backswimmer, by the time I ran to get the skimmer it was long gone. I hate bugs in pools, and this has been vexing me since. I've already done a little searching around here but wanted to see if anyone has a link between cover off time / heat and the presence of these annoying creatures. My FC has been well near the top end of the recommended FC for my CYA, actually a little above since we have a lot of bather load with these hot days.

We've been having 95?F (35?C) days for a couple weeks which is great for swimming (not for landscapes though) and I've started keeping cover off to keep the water temp under control.

Are these pests just a fact of pool life? Anything I can do to discourage them? Is the cover off all day encouraging them to jump in?
    16x30 20,600 gal Inground Vinyl Pool Installed in 1984.
    Bought house in 2011. BBB. Taylor K-2006 test kit.
    Sta-Rite 1HP pump (looks old). Hayward s244t filter.

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Backswimmers, Argh. Oh, and Hi!

3pfilms:

Welcome to TFP

You can try borates - that tends to keep most insects away.