Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 17 of 17

Thread: Bonding Clamps

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Corinth, NY
    Posts
    76

    Bonding Clamps

    Where can I buy the bonding clamps to bond the pool?

  2. Back To Top    #2
    Mod Squad Bama Rambler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    SouthWest Alabama
    Posts
    22,333

    Re: Bonding Clamps

    Any of the big box home improvement stores will have them. Also any electrical supply house will have them too.
    Dave J. TFP Moderator
    24' x 52" Round AGP. 2hp/¼hp SPL Power-Flo 2-speed pump. 200sqft Waterway Cartridge Filter. 45MHP2(3GPD) Stenner Peristaltic Pump
    Pool School ----- Pool Math ----- TF-Test Kit

  3. Back To Top    #3

    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Corinth, NY
    Posts
    76

    Re: Bonding Clamps

    Quote Originally Posted by Bama Rambler
    Any of the big box home improvement stores will have them. Also any electrical supply house will have them too.
    Thanks. Maybe you can help me out with something else. I am running my own electric and I know that I need to run the wire in conduit but do i use 2 #12 or #10 wires in the conduit? Does the convenience receptacle have to have a GFIC circuit breaker? Also. does the ground wire have to be a BARE copper wire or insulated? Thanks for your help.

  4. Back To Top    #4
    Mod Squad Bama Rambler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    SouthWest Alabama
    Posts
    22,333

    Re: Bonding Clamps

    I need to know a lot more than that to help with anything except the GFCI, it's a yep to that.

    What all are you running the wire for?
    Dave J. TFP Moderator
    24' x 52" Round AGP. 2hp/¼hp SPL Power-Flo 2-speed pump. 200sqft Waterway Cartridge Filter. 45MHP2(3GPD) Stenner Peristaltic Pump
    Pool School ----- Pool Math ----- TF-Test Kit

  5. Back To Top    #5

    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Corinth, NY
    Posts
    76

    Re: Bonding Clamps

    I am running wire to a pool pump.

  6. Back To Top    #6
    Mod Squad Bama Rambler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    SouthWest Alabama
    Posts
    22,333

    Re: Bonding Clamps

    Tell me everything you know about it and how long the run will be?
    Dave J. TFP Moderator
    24' x 52" Round AGP. 2hp/¼hp SPL Power-Flo 2-speed pump. 200sqft Waterway Cartridge Filter. 45MHP2(3GPD) Stenner Peristaltic Pump
    Pool School ----- Pool Math ----- TF-Test Kit

  7. Back To Top    #7

    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Corinth, NY
    Posts
    76

    Re: Bonding Clamps

    The run will be less then 30 feet...

    Here is what I know.

    a. If a pump motor receptacle is located between 6’ – 10’ from the inside pool wall, the receptacle must be a single twist-lock outlet, grounded, and Ground Fault Circuit Interrupter (GFCI) protected
    b. Receptacle must have a weatherproof cover that can be closed when the cord is plugged in. (In-use type cover)
    c. An Automatic Timer (Time Switch) must be installed on swimming pool pumps.
    d. The circuit line for the pump motor must be a continuous line going directly to the panel box, and is to be isolated from all other receptacles.
    e. Wire for the pump motor shall not be less than #12 AWG insulated copper grounded wire, and must be in conduit. (except when entering a building the wire can change to NM) (Cannot use UF wire in conduit)
    f. Conduit
    i. PVC – All PVC conduit* must be buried at least 18” deep
    ii. Metal – All Rigid Metal Conduit* must be at least 6” deep
    * Wires used in conduit must be single strand wires (ex: THHN, etc) NO UF CABLE

    2) Convenience Receptacle (Outlet) and Wiring Method

    a. At least one (1) convenience receptacle must be located not closer than 6’ but not further than 20’ from the inside pool wall (Can be existing and/or wired with any approved wiring method)
    b. Convenience receptacle must be GFCI protected.
    c. Must have a weatherproof cover where exposed to the weather (In-use type cover required on used, unattended, receptacles in wet locations)
    d. Must be separate from the pool pump receptacle wiring.
    e. Wiring
    i. UF cable if buried must be at least 24” deep
    ii. PVC – All PVC conduit* must be buried at least 18” deep
    iii. Metal – All Rigid Metal Conduit* must be at least 6” deep
    * Wires used in conduit must be single strand wires (ex: THWN, etc) NO UF CABLE

    3) Bonding The Pool

    a. All metal parts must be bonded together using a #8 (or larger) solid copper wire. (motor, ladder, lights, etc)
    b. Must use non-corrosive clamps.
    c. Conductive pool shells must be bonded in a minimum of four (4) equal spots uniformly spaced around the pool.
    d. Nonconductive pool shells must have a #8 (or larger) solid copper wire 18"-24" from the inside pool wall under the perimeter surface 4"-6" below the final grade.

  8. Back To Top    #8
    Mod Squad Bama Rambler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    SouthWest Alabama
    Posts
    22,333

    Re: Bonding Clamps

    I think you misunderstood.
    In order to figure wire size I need to know what size the pump is. volts, amps, hp etc.
    Dave J. TFP Moderator
    24' x 52" Round AGP. 2hp/¼hp SPL Power-Flo 2-speed pump. 200sqft Waterway Cartridge Filter. 45MHP2(3GPD) Stenner Peristaltic Pump
    Pool School ----- Pool Math ----- TF-Test Kit

  9. Back To Top    #9

    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Corinth, NY
    Posts
    76

    Re: Bonding Clamps

    115 volts Waterway 19" Sand Filter system with 1.0hp Pump

  10. Back To Top    #10

    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Randleman,NC
    Posts
    620

    Re: Bonding Clamps

    I run no less that #10..Has worked for me..Run's of a single 20 amp breaker that has a outside refrigerater on it..I have a GFC outlet ..Fixed it where it is plug'd in underneith house..Just a heavy duty reg plug..Then another GFC outlet at pool..Have not had a bit of problem The only down to #10 is wire is hard to get in box &hard to work with..I here all the bonding thing..I agree but never did it with mine& never had a prob...I'm running about 75 ft to pool..
    Leasure bay AG 24ft,52 in high.installed June of 1999. Hayworth S-180 T sand filter/Power-Flo Matrix 1horse 2 speed pump /Aqua Trol SWG/Using TF-100 Test Kit

  11. Back To Top    #11
    Mod Squad Bama Rambler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    SouthWest Alabama
    Posts
    22,333

    Re: Bonding Clamps

    If your run is no longer than 30 feet and you're only using a 1 hp pump, you can run #12 awg wires. You will need to put it on a gfci. You need to follow the requirements you posted a couple posts back also.
    Dave J. TFP Moderator
    24' x 52" Round AGP. 2hp/¼hp SPL Power-Flo 2-speed pump. 200sqft Waterway Cartridge Filter. 45MHP2(3GPD) Stenner Peristaltic Pump
    Pool School ----- Pool Math ----- TF-Test Kit

  12. Back To Top    #12

    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Corinth, NY
    Posts
    76

    Re: Bonding Clamps

    Quote Originally Posted by Bama Rambler
    If your run is no longer than 30 feet and you're only using a 1 hp pump, you can run #12 awg wires. You will need to put it on a gfci. You need to follow the requirements you posted a couple posts back also.
    Wouldn't #10 awg be better to use?

  13. Back To Top    #13
    JasonLion's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Silver Spring, MD
    Posts
    37,879

    Re: Bonding Clamps

    #10 is better, and more expensive and more difficult to work with. Based on what Bama said, you can go either way.
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

  14. Back To Top    #14

    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Corinth, NY
    Posts
    76

    Re: Bonding Clamps

    Does the two #12 wires have to be different colors that I rum through the conduit and does the ground wire have to be bare copper or can it be stranded?

  15. Back To Top    #15
    JasonLion's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Silver Spring, MD
    Posts
    37,879

    Re: Bonding Clamps

    Wire color depends on the voltage. For 120 they should be black, white, and green. For 240 they can be two the same (usually black or red) and a green (for ground).

    The ground wire must be insulated, point 1e from your list above. It is bonding wires that need to be bare.
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

  16. Back To Top    #16

    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Corinth, NY
    Posts
    76

    Re: Bonding Clamps

    Quote Originally Posted by JasonLion
    Wire color depends on the voltage. For 120 they should be black, white, and green. For 240 they can be two the same (usually black or red) and a green (for ground).

    The ground wire must be insulated, point 1e from your list above. It is bonding wires that need to be bare.
    I am only running 120. Why would I run 240 to a 1hp pool pump? Why do the wires have to be different colors?

  17. Back To Top    #17
    JasonLion's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Silver Spring, MD
    Posts
    37,879

    Re: Bonding Clamps

    They don't have to be black and white, but you do need to be able to tell them apart. 120 volt circuits have hot, neutral, and ground. You need to be able to tell hot apart from neutral.
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •